PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
This listing provides access to the Synthesis and Colloquium collections, which are interdisciplinary teaching and learning products covering new and emerging fields in the life sciences. The basic component of the collections is a 50 to 100-page "lecture" (a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic). Each lecture includes pictures, tables, and linked references to other peer reviewed articles and books. The collections and their lectures are organized b…
This listing provides access to the Synthesis and Colloquium collections, which are interdisciplinary teaching and learning products covering new and emerging fields in the life sciences. The basic component of the collections is a 50 to 100-page "lecture" (a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic). Each lecture includes pictures, tables, and linked references to other peer reviewed articles and books. The collections and their lectures are organized by series, with each series managed by an editor who guides the lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review. New series and lectures are added continuously and existing lectures are revised periodically. Some topics which are currently covered by this database are Biotechnology, Cell Biology of Medicine, the Developing Brain, Developmental Biology, and Integrated Systems Physiology.
Springer Experiments brings together the largest available collection of protocols and methods proven to create results, with content from: Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Springer Protocols and Protocols Exchange.
The Science of Synthesis Database is structure, reaction, text, and field searchable and provides access to the full Science of Synthesis series, including the Houben-Weyl Archive, published from 1909 to-date. Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl is the largest collection of evaluated and vetted methods of organic, organometallic, and medicinal synthesis in the world.
Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl is one of the most important reference works in chemistry. Houben-Weyl consisted initially of two volumes and covering literature in organic and medicinal chemistry published from 1834 through 1911. It was extended by several editions until 1990. Then supplementary volumes were published through 1999. Taken together the Houben-Weyl editions and supplements include 160,000 pages in 160 volumes with 580,000 chemical structures, 146,000 experimental methods and 700,000 references. From 2000 to 2010, a new English edition was published with the title Science of Synthesis comprised of 48 volumes. Science of Synthesis is constantly updated and contains nearly 30,000 new procedures and methods, nearly 200,000 reactions and over 800,000 chemical structures. Today, Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl is the largest collection of evaluated and vetted methods of organic, organometallic, and medicinal synthesis in the world. Science of Synthesis and Houben-Weyl, can be viewed as a set of review articles, written by experts who summarize the literature and who document standard experimental techniques and chemical transformations. The entire resource contains more than 1.2 million references.
Medical Codes
Step 1: Discover relevant CPT, ICD-9, and ICD-10 Codes:
Stat!Ref includes ebooks for these codes and ICD-9 and ICD-10 converter tools.
This unique resource pairs AMA CPT® codes and full descriptors with relevant anatomical illustrations created by famed medical illustrator and physician Frank Netter, MD, and others working in the Netter tradition. Each of seven chapters delves into a specific anatomical region-starting with the head and ending with the lower extremities-and opens with a brief introduction explaining the features of the region. The result is an illustrated explanation of how medical procedures relate to anatomy. This long-awaited third edition of Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT® Coding provides readers a natural reference tool for reviewing clinical information and understanding the assignment of codes. The book has innumerable training applications, from the new coders applying and translating their understanding of anatomy in the context of CPT codes, to the seasoned coders who are trying to glean and extract important information from an operative report to physician notes-all in context of anatomy and CPT codes simultaneously.
The MAUDE database houses medical device reports submitted to the FDA by mandatory reporters 1 (manufacturers, importers and device user facilities) and voluntary reporters such as health care professionals, patients and consumers.
"When is an iPad no longer an iPad and instead considered a regulated medical device by the FDA? To help member institutions see this important distinction with more clarity, the AAMC hosted Sharon R. Klein, JD, partner at Pepper Hamilton, LLP to explore how existing guidelines play into the larger picture of data privacy, patient care, and government regulations. This webinar was recorded on July 23, 2014."
TechStreet Enterprise is a reference tool providing a small number of technical standards for University of Utah students and employees. The standards provided vary from year to year.
ASTM Compass contains, standards, journals, technical papers, manuals, and data series published by ASTM International. Additionally, most International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards are available in ASTM Compass.
This database provides full-text access to standards dating back to 1948 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the Institutions of Electrical Engineers (IEE), and Society of Motion Pictures & Television Engineers (STPTE) standards .
MAD CAD is a reference database containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and industry guidelines. Various building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from NFPA are included in the collection. Results can be tailored to state and local areas. If we do not have the code you are looking for, please use Tech Street.
The Eccles Library has several ANSI, AAMI, ISO standards relevant to medical devices. They are currently housed in the Gary L. Crocker Design & Innovation Lab on the Garden Level.
- Biological evaluation of medical devices
- Medical devices: application of risk management to medical devices
- Medical devices: quality management systems - requirements for regulatory purposes
- Medical electrical equipment
This database consists of those national and international standards recognized by FDA which manufacturers can declare conformity to and is part of the information the Center can use to make an appropriate decision regarding the clearance or approval of a submission. Information submitted on conformance with such standards will have a direct bearing on safety and effectiveness determinations made during the review of IDEs, HDEs, PMAs, and PDPs. Conformance with recognized consensus standards in and of itself, however, may not always be a sufficient basis for regulatory decisions.
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT Coding third edition by 
