ULibraries Research Guides: Health Sciences, Eccles Library: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for health sciences. This is a more comprehensive guide with many resources. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 5,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index contain full text with no embargo. 1937 to present.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
Lexidrug
UpToDate Lexidrug, formerly Lexicomp, is a comprehensive clinical database that provides access to current drug and disease information..
DynaMed
Point of care information for healthcare professionals. integrates best practices for providing easy-to-interpret Level of Evidence labels for health care professionals quickly find and determine the quality of the best available evidence in clinical decision-making. Updated daily.
Micromedex
Wired UHealth Network Access Only. No remote nor wi-fi access. | Drug, toxicology and acute care information tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals. Includes Toxicology Management nd access to RedBook® for daily drug pricing. App available, email apps@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care.
Register for your personal account and 1) earn CME/CE/CPD Credit each time you log in, 2) install UpToDate app on your mobile device and 3) personalize navigation.
APA PsycINFO
The premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences from the authority in psychology. 1800 - present.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
An evidence-based point-of-care resource to quickly answer nurses’ clinical questions. It includes videos and images, nursing management topics, care plans, leadership and management, continuing education modules, and additional skills.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Computerized information processing tools for the conduct of molecular biology and biomedical research. Includes data on genes, proteins, BLAST, Genomes, PubChem, and more.
The National Center for Biotechnology Information was established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information. NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Trip
Find clinical evidence fast. Register for free access. Premium Pro account is fee-based.
AgeLine
AgeLine provides coverage of aging issues from individual, national, and global perspectives, providing a source of literature on social gerontology. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports focusing exclusively on the population aged 50+ and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also provides information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers. …
AgeLine provides coverage of aging issues from individual, national, and global perspectives, providing a source of literature on social gerontology. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports focusing exclusively on the population aged 50+ and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also provides information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers. Original abstracts are generated for every citation, with index terms drawn from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging Terminology.

Other Great Resources

Embase
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
Web of Science Core Collection
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Book Citation Indexes (2005-current), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-current, supports structure searches), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990-current), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-current), and Index Chemicus (1993-current).
For published authors of monographs, please submit your request to be added to Web of Science.
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The collection contains abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 publications, and provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years (1952-1962) have been added to the database. Many records from j…
Education Full Text + ERIC
Education Full Text + ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) is a combined database centering around education literature and resources.

Drug information resources, usually monographs and calculators with IV compatibility, interactions, etc.

Lexidrug
UpToDate Lexidrug, formerly Lexicomp, is a comprehensive clinical database that provides access to current drug and disease information..
Micromedex
Wired UHealth Network Access Only. No remote nor wi-fi access. | Drug, toxicology and acute care information tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals. Includes Toxicology Management nd access to RedBook® for daily drug pricing. App available, email apps@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code.
NatMed Pro
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed. Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.

All Health Sciences Databases
A list of all health sciences databases.

Point of care tools.

DynaMed
Point of care information for healthcare professionals. integrates best practices for providing easy-to-interpret Level of Evidence labels for health care professionals quickly find and determine the quality of the best available evidence in clinical decision-making. Updated daily.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care.
Register for your personal account and 1) earn CME/CE/CPD Credit each time you log in, 2) install UpToDate app on your mobile device and 3) personalize navigation.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
An evidence-based point-of-care resource to quickly answer nurses’ clinical questions. It includes videos and images, nursing management topics, care plans, leadership and management, continuing education modules, and additional skills.

Resources for general clinical practice, including skills development.

ClinicalKey
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Register to personalize your ClinicalKey for book PDFs and additional benefits.
Clinical Skills
A reference tool and learning management system for nurses to refresh knowledge, or learn and test skills and procedures. Health Sciences Network only or VPN.
Trip
Find clinical evidence fast. Register for free access. Premium Pro account is fee-based.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Search results are limited to specific clinical research areas. Filter information by clinical studies, systematic reviews or medical genetics.
ECRI Guidelines Trust™
An interactive practice guidelines portal. Free registration required.
VisualDx
VisualDx is decision support software designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Enter your patient's key signs and symptoms (e.g., dyspnea, abdominal pain, widespread papules) to generate a patient-relevant differential diagnosis. VisualDx includes dermatologic diseases in all age groups as well as specific modules for looking up travel-related illnesses, conditions in the immunocompromised, pulmonary infection, and oral-mucosal lesions. It can also search over 800 medications for specific drug reactions. Each diagnosis is accompanied by handbook-length text with information on diagnostic pearls and testing as well as guidelines on therapy.

Resources to help with studying and test preparation.

AccessMedicine
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Clinical textbooks, self-assessment, case files, images and more.
AccessPharmacy
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Explore online leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Updated regularly, AccessPharmacy gives instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading pharmacy textbooks .
AccessNeurology
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Comprehensive collection of electronic textbooks that cover the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to the specialty specific. Includes videos, images, self-assessment, and case files.
Anatomy.TV
Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
ClinicalKey
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Register to personalize your ClinicalKey for book PDFs and additional benefits.

Resources that provide readable patient information.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. The collection contains searchable full-text articles from over 165 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. The database also includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. The content of this collection is tailored for consumers.
MedlinePlus
Trusted health information for you.
From the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, MEDLINEplus is for anyone with a medical question- both health professionals and consumers.

Databases, Books, & Journals

Databases and resources that contain articles and/or full text of articles relevant to the health sciences.

MEDLINE (Ovid)
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Ovid MEDLINE ® content, like PubMed, is produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers 1946 to present. University of Utah only.
Embase
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 5,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index contain full text with no embargo. 1937 to present.
Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
Web of Science Core Collection
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Book Citation Indexes (2005-current), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-current, supports structure searches), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990-current), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-current), and Index Chemicus (1993-current).
For published authors of monographs, please submit your request to be added to Web of Science.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
Emcare
Covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes unique content and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Embase, Medline, or CINAHL.
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The collection contains abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 publications, and provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years (1952-1962) have been added to the database. Many records from j…
APA PsycINFO
The premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences from the authority in psychology. 1800 - present.

All Health Sciences Databases
A list of all health sciences databases.

Start with these highlighted eBook titles. You can always search the eBook collections below to find more relevant eBooks, or check out our collections on this guide.

Library Catalog - Usearch
Find items available from campus libraries.
ClinicalKey
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Register to personalize your ClinicalKey for book PDFs and additional benefits.
AccessMedicine
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Clinical textbooks, self-assessment, case files, images and more.