ULibraries Research Guides: Health Sciences, Eccles Library: Library Tutorials &amp; Help

Tutorials

EHSL Canvas Tutorials
Tutorials for Databases

These tutorials are available through Canvas. If you want more explanation about library services, organizing a search, or tips to make you a better searcher, check here!

Optimizing Your Library Experience
This module will orient you to library resources available to you through the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.
Developing a Research Question
This module will help you go from an idea or something you're wondering about into an answerable research question. If you need help, you can always contact the Eccles Health Sciences Library!
Finding Keywords for Your Topic
This module how to identify and keep track of keywords you use in a literature search. If you need any help, contact the Eccles Health Sciences Library.
Basic Searching Tips & Tricks
This module goes over some searching tips and tricks that you can use in a variety of resources, like Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), truncation, parentheses, and more. If you need help, you can always contact the Eccles Health Sciences Library!
Advanced Database Tips for PubMed and CINAHL
This module covers ten database tips, focusing on PubMed and CINAHL. If you need any help, contact the Eccles Health Sciences Library.
Evaluating Information
This module will help you learn what steps you can take to evaluate and fact-check the information you find. If you need help, you can always contact the Eccles Health Sciences Library!
How to Read Journal Articles
This page contains advice for reading journal articles.

CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial
This tutorial from EBSCOhost will help you develop basic searching skills in CINAHL.
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial
This tutorial from EBSCOhost will help you do advanced searching in CINAHL.
Embase tutorials
Need help getting started in Embase? Try this page of tutorial videos.
PubMed Tutorial
This tutorial from the National Library of Medicine covers PubMed basics, including MeSH.
Web of Science Tutorials
A video library of tutorials for Web of Science.
Scopus Tutorials
Here are tutorials put together by Scopus.
Advanced Searching in EBSCOhost
This tutorial demonstrates an advanced search on EBSCOHost, which is the platform for a number of databases, like CINAHL, PsycINFO, Ageline, and Education Abstracts.

Searching tips

The research process

Steps for locating information for a research paper/project:

Select a topic of interest and then state your topic as a question

PICO question: Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome

Identify the key concepts and words that describe your question
Locate and retrieve information sources that support the topic question; this includes using library catalogs to locate reference books, encyclopedias, bibliographies, handbooks, statistics, videos, and other media
Use online databases to find journal articles, newspapers, statistics, and other kinds of supporting materials
Find Internet resources; this may include government documents, images, graphs, data, maps and more
Evaluate what you find; take detailed notes; summarize and quote source material accurately
Cite your sources of information accurately
- Use a bibliographic management program such as EndNote to organize materials and write your paper with properly formatted citations