Business Writing Toolkit
Marketing Plans
Below are resources available with the Marriott Library that help you build a marketing plan. For more material on marketing research check-out Markets & Marketing Research.
The ultimate guide to strategic marketing : real world methods for developing successful, long-term marketing plans by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0071809104Publication Date: 2014
Marketing plans : how to prepare them, how to use them by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9786613371737Publication Date: 2011
Below are free resources that will help you develop and implement a marketing plan.
- 5 Steps To A Better Marketing Plan - Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute
- Write a marketing plan: Implement your marketing plan - nibusinessinfo.co.uk
- Implement a marketing plan - Queensland Government
- Cengage Publishing - Sample Marketing Plan
Below are some free resources for international marketing.
Consumer Analysis
Below are databases available through Marriott Library that provide insight into consumer behavior and market trends. Read over the descriptions and select which meet your needs.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The collection contains more than 150,000 articles from over 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations. All articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal are included.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of over 560 full-text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Topics covered by the database include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Most full-text titles included in this database are also indexed in PsycINFO. The database is updated daily.
- ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new windowThis listing provides access to most of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through ProQuest. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them. The number of databases listed here may change as the University adds or removes ProQuest content from our collections. For more information about the databases that ProQuest provides access to, open this list and then click on the \Searching <#> Databases\" button near"…
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowThis database contains an index of the feminist press that covers nearly 3,000 sources in women's studies areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a collection of worldwide business information.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a variety of industry reports including risk reports, industry summaries, market research, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competition data. Items can be viewed online or downloaded for offline use.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Full-text results are provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. This database covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
- Consumer Reports"Ratings and recommendations from the country's largest consumer product testing and research center." Some information on the Website is free, but many of the reports and articles are only available by subscribing. The Marriott Library subscribes to the print version (TX335 .C6). Newest issues in Browsing, Level 3 and older issues in the ARC). Most articles from July 1997 through the present are available online through the article database, Academic Search Premier.
- Advertising AgeCorresponds in part to the weekly print publication, Advertising Age. Includes links to "New and features, "Interactive daily," "International daily," "Jobbank," "AdMarket 50," and special reports through "Netmarketing," such as "Business to business advertisers top 100," and "Business to business websites top 200."
- Journal of Consumer ResearchThis journal contains information on consumer behavior and shopper motivation research (Marketing).
Below are books available with Marriott Library.
Consumer Marketing and Advertising 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833413Publication Date: 2024
Travel and Tourism Market Research 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833475Publication Date: 2024
Restaurant, Food and Beverage Market Research 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833444Publication Date: 2024
Below are free resources that provide consumer intelligence.
American Time Use Survey (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) - The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Consumer Expenditure Survey - The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
State & County Quickfacts (U.S. Census Bureau) - QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
American Community Survey (ACS) - A description of products, geographic areas covered, and tools containing these products.
Data Tables - The US Census Bureau has a division dedicated to data dissemination for more assistance email them at census.askdata@census.gov
Census Business Builder - The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
Market Analysis
Consumers participate in the market every day with every purchase. Check out the following resources to understand the dynamics involved.
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowDomestic and international responses
to issues and events from 1935 to today
New Deal • Lend-Lease • Wagner Labor Act • Rationing • Berlin Airlift • Marshall Plan •
Red Scare • Polio Vaccine • Korean War • Cuban Missile Crisis • Civil Rights Movement •
JFK, RFK and MLK Assassinations • Space Race • Vietnam • Roe v. Wade • Watergate •
1970s Recession • Iran Hostage Crisis • Women’s Movement • Three Mile Island • Iran-Contra •
AIDS • Savings and Loan Bailout • Fall of Berlin Wall • Dissolution of USSR • Gulf War •
Rodney King • Clinton Impeachment • September 11 • Abu Ghraib • 2000 election •
Hurricane Katrina • ACA • Same-Sex Marriage • Mueller Report • Trump Impeachment
- Markets and Markets This link opens in a new windowNOTE:Access limited to University of Utah students, faculty, and staff. MarketsandMarkets provides quantified B2B research on 30,000 high growth emerging opportunities/threats which will impact 70% to 80% of worldwide companies' revenues. Currently servicing 7500 customers worldwide including 80% of globalFortune 1000 companies as clients. Almost 75,000 top officers across eight industries worldwide approach MarketsandMarkets for their painpoints around revenues decisions. Our 850 fulltime analyst and SMEs at MarketsandMarkets are tracking global high growth markets following the "Growth Engagement Model - GEM". The GEM aims at proactive collaboration with the clients to identify new opportunities, identify most important customers, write "Attack, avoid and defend" strategies, identify sources of incremental revenues for both the company and its competitors. MarketsandMarkets now coming up with 1,500 MicroQuadrants (Positioning top players across leaders, emerging companies, innovators, strategic players) annually in high growth emerging segments. MarketsandMarkets™ is determined to benefit more than 10,000 companies this year for their revenue planning and help them take their innovations/disruptions early to the market by providing them research ahead of the curve. MarketsandMarkets's flagship competitive intelligence and market research platform, "Knowledgestore" connects over 200,000 markets and entire value chains for deeper understanding of the unmet insights along with market sizing and forecasts of niche markets.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowAcademic institutions around the globe subscribe to BCC Research to utilize the vast library of market research reports that aid students, professors, and technology transfer professionals in conducting research projects. Students appreciate the depth and specificity of BCC Research reports, finding it easy to uncover all of the data they need, from growth trends and market opportunities to geographic breakdowns and company profiles.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to licensed content from Dow Jones journalists, media outlets, trade and consumer publications and business Web sites. Factiva also contains in-depth company, executive and industry profiles, expert analysis, market data and other reports.
Below are free resources that provide market intelligence.
Market Research and Competitive Analysis - U.S. Small Business Administration
Consumer Price Index - The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
Producer Price Index (PPI) - The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services
