Markets & Marketing Research Guide
Consumer Analysis
Below are databases available through Marriott Library that provide insight into consumer behavior and market trends. Read over the descriptions and select which meet your needs.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The collection contains more than 150,000 articles from over 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations. All articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal are included.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of over 560 full-text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Topics covered by the database include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Most full-text titles included in this database are also indexed in PsycINFO. The database is updated daily.
- ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new windowThis listing provides access to most of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through ProQuest. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them. The number of databases listed here may change as the University adds or removes ProQuest content from our collections. For more information about the databases that ProQuest provides access to, open this list and then click on the \Searching <#> Databases\" button near"…
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowThis database contains an index of the feminist press that covers nearly 3,000 sources in women's studies areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a collection of worldwide business information.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a variety of industry reports including risk reports, industry summaries, market research, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competition data. Items can be viewed online or downloaded for offline use.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Full-text results are provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. This database covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
- Consumer Reports"Ratings and recommendations from the country's largest consumer product testing and research center." Some information on the Website is free, but many of the reports and articles are only available by subscribing. The Marriott Library subscribes to the print version (TX335 .C6). Newest issues in Browsing, Level 3 and older issues in the ARC). Most articles from July 1997 through the present are available online through the article database, Academic Search Premier.
- Advertising AgeCorresponds in part to the weekly print publication, Advertising Age. Includes links to "New and features, "Interactive daily," "International daily," "Jobbank," "AdMarket 50," and special reports through "Netmarketing," such as "Business to business advertisers top 100," and "Business to business websites top 200."
- Journal of Consumer ResearchThis journal contains information on consumer behavior and shopper motivation research (Marketing).
Below are books available with Marriott Library.
Consumer Marketing and Advertising 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833413Publication Date: 2024
Travel and Tourism Market Research 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833475Publication Date: 2024
Restaurant, Food and Beverage Market Research 2025 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577833444Publication Date: 2024
Below are free resources that provide consumer intelligence.
American Time Use Survey (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) - The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Consumer Expenditure Survey - The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
State & County Quickfacts (U.S. Census Bureau) - QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
American Community Survey (ACS) - A description of products, geographic areas covered, and tools containing these products.
Data Tables - The US Census Bureau has a division dedicated to data dissemination for more assistance email them at census.askdata@census.gov
Census Business Builder - The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
Sales Pitch
Film
This film, The Sell Game: Robert Herjavec of "Shark Tank" Puts People to the Selling Test, is available in the Films on Demand database. If you are unable to view it below, you can access the item. If you are required to log in, please use your U credentials.
Below are resources available with your library. If you are asked to login, use your U credentials.
Books
Sales and Pitch Letters for Busy People by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781564149527Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Interesting Sources
Below are free resources that provide specific market intelligence.
- Association of Religion Data ArchivesProviding free access to quality data on religion.
- City PopulationPopulation Statistics for all countries and the major agglomerations of the world, for the major cities and agglomerations of each country, and for the administrative divisions of each country.
- Market ResearchAt MarketResearch.com, we're committed to providing businesses with insights they need to succeed in today's competitive marketplace.
- Countries and their CulturesWikipedia-like resource focused on counties and culture. Users have the ability to submit additions to articles to a moderator.
