Civil & Environmental Engineering
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Style Resources
From the ASCE website:
ASCE stands at the forefront of a profession that plans, designs, constructs, and operates society's economic and social engine - the built environment - while protecting and restoring the natural environment.
- ASCE Style GuideRevised 2014.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Style Resources
Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, we are the world’s largest scientific society. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Our vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
- Short Summary of the ACS Style Guide OnlineFrom the University of Madison, Wisconsin.
- Chapter 14 of the ACS Style GuideFrom the ACS website. Chapter 14 contains the rules for how to cite references in text and create a bibliography.
- ACS Style GuidePDF version of Chapter 14 of the ACS Style Guide contains the rules for how to cite references in text and create a bibliography.
IEEE Style Resources
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) is a style primarily used in engineering.
In IEEE, your citations are in text in bracketed numbers, and your bibliography is at the end on a new page with the heading References.
- IEEE Reference GuideThis document goes over citations and references.
- IEEE Editorial Style ManualThis document goes over writing style in general.
- IEEE Author CenterA website with resources for authors writing in IEEE, including templates and checkers.
- IEEE Style GuideFrom Murdoch University. Includes examples.
Managing Citations and References
We recommend using a citation management tool. Citation management tools help organize and manage your references. Most citations managers include a plug-in for Microsoft Word, which makes it easy to cite and format your references.
- EndNote Basic This link opens in a new windowEndNote Basic is a service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. EndNote Basic helps organize and format references, create footnotes or a bibliography, and collect other information related to a user's research. EndNote Basic requires users to register - since its purpose is to organize personalized research information, each user must sign into a personal account before using the service.
- Library Guide on Using EndNote BasicThis library guide contains information and tutorials about using EndNote Basic (web-browser version).
- Library Guide on Using EndNote DesktopThis library guide contains information and tutorials about using EndNote Desktop.
Although the University of Utah Software Licensing Office supports EndNote, there are other citation management tools available, such as Mendeley, Papers, and Zotero.
University Writing Center
The University Writing Center is here to help you become a more confident writer by providing individual consultations with peer tutors. We work on papers from all disciplines - not just writing classes. Best of all, the Writing Center is a FREE service to students and faculty of the University of Utah.
The University Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of the Marriott Library in room 2701.
Make an appointment
Other Library Guides
Style and Citation Manuals
by Lorelei Rutledge Last Updated Feb 10, 2023 315 views this year
by Lorelei Rutledge Last Updated Jun 9, 2022 546 views this year
by Shane Wallace Last Updated Aug 17, 2021 119 views this year
by Rebekah Cummings Last Updated Mar 4, 2022 279 views this year