Civil & Environmental Engineering
Find Civil & Environmental Engineering Articles
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily and contains over 70 million records. Scopus indexes over 23,400 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 publishers, including 5500 open access journals. Scopus also indexes 294 trade publications, over 120,000 conferences, and 210,000 books. Additionally, the database contains 44 million patent records from the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, and the UK Intellectual Property Office. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThis link provides access to the content of two databases from Engineering Village, Compendex and Inspec. Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricu…
- Compendex Archive This link opens in a new windowEffective July 31st, 2013, Compendex is limited to archive-only access and is not updated with new information (see coverage date above for details). Access to current information in Compendex is available through Scopus.Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines…
- Inspec This link opens in a new windowInspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 11.2 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Inspec's online coverage is from 1898 to the present, and records are updated weekly. Help
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Coverage is 1900 - present.
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015 - present)
- E&E News This link opens in a new windowUniversity of Utah Main Campus has subscription IP access to E&E News – a subscription news service that provides comprehensive daily reporting and analysis of the most relevant regional, national and international energy and environmental policy issues across the political, regulatory, scientific, and industry spectrum. Go to to Sign Up for access. Upon filling out the information and clicking Start Reading, you will be set up for service under your school’s license to E&E services - Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&E News PM! Instructions: E-mail: Use your @utah.edu school email address
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowASTM Compass contains standards, journal articles, technical papers, manuals and data series published by ASTM International. If you have problems accessing the database while using Google Chrome, try switching to another search engine, such as Firefox.
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Environmental Studies provides detailed information on current environmental issues and processes from both a scientific and a social standpoint suitable for high school, undergrad, and graduate students. Reference works, case studies, multimedia materials, newspapers, and magazines provide a wide range of content to support all learners.
Other CVEEN databases (technical reports, government reports, etc.)
- AAPG Foundation Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a number of petroleum geology journals and books through an endowment gift provided to the library in honor of Dr. Frank Brown. Included in this database are the AAPG Bulletin, over 230 digital AAPG books, and access to the publications of the Geological Societies of Alabama, Ohio, Trinidad and Tobago, East Texas, Kansas, Wyoming, North Dakota, Montana, and many more, along with publications like the Journal of Petroleum Geology, Journal of Sedimenta…
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowThis database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Agricola contains more than 4.8 million citations, which are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Agricola encompasses agriculture and many allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries... If you have problems accessing the database while using Google Chrome, try switching to another search engine, such as Firefox.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowThis is the American Geological Institute's geoscience database, which contains over 1.5 million records pertaining to North America (from 1785 to present) and other areas of the world (from 1933 to present).
- govinfo (formerly known as FDsys) This link opens in a new windowgovinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- Osti.gov This link opens in a new windowFrom the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options; and for the DOE community, additional citation information is available to help researchers evaluate article impact and find related research.
- TRAIL This link opens in a new windowTRAIL is a collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. The TRAIL project was initiated in 2005 by engineering and government document librarians (including the University of Utah). The project has since expanded and is now a nationwide workflow among over 30 institutional partners. As of April 2011 more than 30,000 documents have been scanned, cataloged and added to the repository. U.S. federal a…
- TRID This link opens in a new windowTRID provides access to a variety of bibliographic data related to transportation research. The database is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies and contains over 900,000 research records, over 64,000 of which link to full-text articles. Subjects covered by TRID include Highways, Transit, Railroads, Maritime, Aviation, Pipelines, Pedestrian, Bicycles, Planning, Construction, Design, Safety, Environmental Issues, and more.
- USGS Publications WarehouseThe Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
Get library materials from other libraries for free!
Items not found at University of Utah libraries will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). In most instances books are available within 1 to 2 weeks and electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours.
Submit an interlibrary loan request
Connect from off-campus
Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.
Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar
OR Download and install VPN software on your machine.
Need help? Contact us
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides