Mechanical Engineering

This link provides access to the content of two databases from Engineering Village, Compendex and Inspec. Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. More than 650,000 new records are added to the database annually from over 190 disciplines and major specialties within engineering. Compendex is updated weekly. Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 11.2 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Approximately 600,000 new records are added to the database annually. Inspec's online coverage is from 1969 to the present, and records are updated weekly.

Using this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and select the options for the University of Utah which appear below the text field. Hit 'Save' at the bottom right of the page, and you will then be ready to start using Google Scholar.