Alerts: Keeping Current in Your Discipline: Publisher Alerts
Alerts refer to notifications when something of interest to you has been published in a new journal issue or added to a database or website. Covers basic techniques for setting up alerts (a.k.a. current awareness services).
Selected List of Publishers
Selected List of Publishers
Publisher alerts are usually faster than database alerts!! Some Tips:
- Publisher websites are the first place information is made available.
- This information is then sent to database vendors; however, some databases are only updated monthly or quarterly.
- Also, publishers often provide information on research articles while they are still "in press" but databases do not usually include content until after it is officially published.
- The drawback to publisher alerts is that they usually cover a fairly small number of journals while database alerts can cover several thousand journals.
NOTE: Publishers offer the ability to sign up for alerts about articles in all their journals/publications. They do not require you to have a subscription to the journal to receive alerts.
To set up alerts for publishers not available in the list below, find the publishers web site. Then search for a link to create an alert.
The following publishers offer alerts via email and RSS feeds. Some also offer the ability to become fans in Facebook or follow via Twitter. Whenever possible, the link below leads to a page of information on how to set up alerts. If you do not find the setting alerts page, use the site index or search box to identify the specifc page for the association.
- American Chemical Society
Journal Alerts available via email or RSS feed. - American Geophysical Union
Alerts available via email.
- American Institute of Physics
AIP website news is available via RSS Feed. If you are interested in receiving Table of Contents alerts for AIP journals see Scitation (on the Database Alerts tab).
- American Mathematical Society
AMS offers a free email alert service for recently posted articles in AMS electronic journals.
- American Meteorological Society
JOIN will notify you by email of new journal postings on a continuing basis. You can also sign up for RSS feeds.
- American Physical Society
See the bottom of the home page for ways to "follow the APS" - available via RSS feed, Facebook, LinkedIn, PhysicsFrontlineBlog, and Twitter.
- American Physical Society Journals
Both topic and table of contents alerts available for APS journals. Offers RSS feed or email alerting.
- American Psychological Association
Sign up to receive RSS feeds regarding new article headlines, summaries, and links to the full-text articles published by the APA.
- American Society for Microbiology
You can sign up to receive tables of contents and citation alerts by email.
- American Society of Civil Engineers
You can sign up to receive table of contents alerts via email or RSS feed.
- Annual Reviews
Click on one of the publications in the list. When the page loads, click on "sign up for email alerts." Provides citation alerts, table of contents alerts and saved subject alerts.
- APPI Publishing - alerts
American Psychiatric Publishing Inc. offers email alerts (including ToC and citation alerts), RSS feeds, and PDA downloads for all their journals.
- APPI Publishing - twitter
American Psychiatric Publishing Inc. via twitter
- Caliber - University of California Press
Covers journals published by the University of California Press. You can sign up to receive customized email alerts and saved search alerts.
- Cambridge University Press
Cambridge Alerts allows you to receive relevant emails on new books and news. You can also sign up for Journal Contents Alerts.
- Cell Press
Offers Cell Press news via twitter and email alerts for journals.
- Crystallography Journals Online - see International Union of Crystallography
- CSIRO Publishing
Based out of Australia - covering a wide variety of scientific subject areas. Click on Early Alert, RSS feeds, or Facebook to receive the latest updates.
- Emerald Publishing (management, library science)
Covers business, management, materials science, tourism and hospitality, and library science journals. Register to sign up for table of contents alerts, weekly digests for all journal issues published, or saved search alerts via email.
- Highwire Press
Covers a wide variety of subject areas. Some journals are free while others are available only by subscription. Alerts are available - even if not subscribed to the journals. Offers ToC and Citation Alerts by email, RSS feed or PDA Channel.
- Highwire Press - twitter & Facebook
- InformaWorld
Covers publications from Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare. Click on Register to save searches, create marked lists and receive email alerts.
- Institute of Physics
User Options allows you to sign up for email alerts and saved searches. All Institute of Physics articles are freely accessible for the first 30 days. Setting up alerts will ensure information on relevant articles is received before this 30 day grace period ends.
- International Union of Crystallography
E-mail alerts enables registered users to receive by e-mail a list of the contents of each new issue of any IUCr journal (normally two to three weeks before the printed journal is available).
- Karger (biomedical sciences)
RSS feeds provide you with the latest abstracts and tables of contents. The Karger Alert System includes e-article alerts, early book announcements and book release notifications via email.
- Materials Research Society - email alerts
Registered users can be notified by email about new books, journal table of contents, MRS newsletters, or general science policy news from MRS.
- Materials Research Society - RSS feeds
- National Academies Press
Look in right sidebar for links to signup for email updates, RSS feeds, twitter, and Facebook.
- National Bureau of Economic Research
A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Registering allows you to receive notifications of new working papers and data releases in areas of interest.
- National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information
The NCADI website includes databases, research and current general information about substance abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment. Join the eNetwork to receive grant announcements, new publication information and news releases.
- National Institutes of Health
Offers NIH updates by email and RSS feed.
- National Science Foundation
Look in right sidebar for update options via email, RSS feeds, twitter, and Facebook.
- Nature Publishing Group - email alerts
Click on the journal title(s) of interest and look for the link to sign up for e-alerts.
- Nature Publishing Group - RSS feeds
You can sign up to receive RSS feeds from a variety of journals published by NPG.
- Oxford University Press Journals
OUP journals cover a broad range of subject areas. Once registered you can receive free sample issues, flexible email alerts and the option to save favorite articles and searches.
- Portland Press Limited - email alerts
Tables of contents by email available from Portland Press. Covers publications of The Biochemical Society - cellular and molecular sciences.
- Portland Press Limited - RSS feeds
RSS feed links for publications of The Biochemical Society - cellular and molecular sciences.
- Royal Society of Chemistry
Register to receive alerts via email or RSS feed.
- Sage Publications
Covers a wide variety of subject areas. Look in right sidebar and scroll down to "email alerts." Alerts are available for new book announcements, tables of contents and special offers relating to your areas of interest.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Covers a wide variety of subject areas, including life and physical sciences, Business Management, Economics and Social Sciences. There are 3 types of alerts: Search Alerts, Journal Issue Alerts, and Citation Alerts.
- SPIE
Visit individual SPIE journal web pages to see what alerts are available - varies by title. SPIE Newsroom offers email and RSS feed updates.
- Springer (science, technology, and medicine)
SpringerAlerts keep you up-to-date with recently published Springer books and journals. As an alerts subscriber, you will receive news about upcoming books, journal tables of contents and special offers.
- SpringerLink
Covers a wide variety of subject areas. By registering you can take advantage of the personalized services such as email alerts and marked items list.
- University of Chicago Press
UCP publishes a wide variety of academic titles, including The Chicago Manual of Style. UCP will send you an email message listing recently released books in the subject areas you select when you subscribe. You can also sign up to receive RSS feeds.
- University of Chicago Press Journals
You can sign up for RSS feeds or table of contents alerts.
- Wiley
You can sign up to receive RSS feeds about new titles.
- Wiley - twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn
A wide range of twitter handles, Facebook pages, and LinkedIn groups - all related to Wiley publications.
- Wiley Interscience
Traditionally strong in the sciences; however, also covers a wide range of business, social sciences, and humanities subject areas. Register via My Profile. Offers citation tracking, saved searches and journal ToC alerts.
- World Scientific Publishing
Covers all areas of the sciences plus economics and social sciences. You can receive journal table of contents alerts.
