Art Education
A research guide to support exploration of topics in Art Education.
ARTstor YouTube Channel
Learn how to use ARTstor on YouTube!
ARTstor Subject Guides
Check out ARTstor's arts-related and interdisciplinary SUBJECT GUIDES ...
VERY USEFUL research guides!
- Permissions Free ResourcesUse this guide to find material that you can freely use, share or modify beyond what the Fair Use Doctrine (and other exceptions) usually allows.
ARTstor
ARTstor is the premier image database for art historians. While images for more modern and contemporary art may be a little limited, those addressing your interdisciplinary research needs are growing!
- search more than one million images and 360°-panoramas of art, architecture, cultural objects, maps, ephemera, and more
- viewing tools include zoom and pan
- you are able to download presentation-quality image files to your computer and you can directly import images into your PowerPoint presentations
- you can create folders or study collections within ARTstor
To use ARTstor from of-campus, you must first register a personal account within ARTstor while on a campus computer.
Select Resources for Images
- AP ImagesIncludes more than 3.5 million primary-source photographs from the 1820s to the present, as well as the original captions AND more than 100,000 graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs.
- College of Architecture + Planning Image CollectionThis collection was created by the College of Architecture + Planning at the University of Utah to facilitate the study of a wide range of local, national and international architectural styles and histories.
- Mountain West Digital LibraryThe Mountain West Digital Library is an aggregation of digital collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, and Idaho. Hosting institutions each run servers supporting their own digital collections and support partner institutions by providing scanning and hosting services. The Mountain West defines the region of contributors, but the content extends beyond the Mountain West and into different fields.
- Dept. Art & Art History's Digital Image DatabaseA growing collection of Art and Art History images for research and teaching, including western and non-western, spanning prehistoric to contemporary art. Locate the "Digital Image Database" from the left sidebar menu; you will then need to enter your uNID and password for access.
- UMFA Collection DatabaseThe Utah Museum of Fine Arts collection includes more than 18,000 objects -- paintings, works on paper, photography, sculpture, and mixed media objects from artists around the world.
- Multimedia Archives at the Marriott LibraryThe Multimedia Archives at the Marriott Library holds many thousands of photos spanning many topics.
- accessCeramicsA searchable database of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide. You can consult an artist list or browse by various categories such as glazing/surface; material; object type; technique; firing; and temperature. Developed at Lewis & Clark College.
- Digital Images Collections WikiThe Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes. Developed by Hollin Elizabeth Pagos (MLS graduate, Simmons College) during a summer 2007 internship in the Visual Resources department of Wellesley College, the project's wiki format supports ongoing development. Please contribute!
- Image Library: Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)Here you will find a growing body of high resolution images (between 10–40 MB) from LACMA's encyclopedic collection. All works are believed to be in the public domain, and are therefore available without restriction, free of charge for non-commercial use. From ancient sculpture to Impressionist masters, from scroll paintings to MesoAmerican pottery, we hope these works of art will inform and inspire.
- Art ResourceA large commercial photo archive of fine art from prehistoric times to the present. Includes over three million transparencies and black and white photographs of works cross-referenced by subject, title, artist, period, place, and medium.
- Image Collections and Online ArtDirectory of image websites compiled by Pat Young at the University of Michigan.
- Oxford Art OnlineGateway access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. In addition to the more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies, the product offers 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.
- Karl Bodmer AquatintsKarl Bodmer created over 150 watercolors during the 1832 -1834 expedition through the American west by Prince Maximilian zu Wied. For more than a century, Bodmer's aquatints have remained a major source of information regarding Plains Indian culture. These works of art were also instrumental in creating the romantic perceptions and misconceptions of these peoples, which endure to this day in art, film, and literature.
- Lennox and Catherine Tierney Photograph CollectionDr. Patrick Lennox Tierney is an emeritus art history professor, artist, and world traveler. He arrived to teach at the University of Utah in 1971 and specialized in Asian art. He used his photography skills to lead Through the Lens Tours, where he traveled to practically every country on earth. His nearly 500,000 images are now part of the Marriott Library's Multimedia Archives; digitization is on-going.
Subject Guide
