Art Education

The National Art Education Association's site for thematic lesson plans, activities, materials, themes, and artists.

The MET offers several unique ways for kids of all ages to learn and interact with art. This online museum provides a look behind the arts, museum adventures, and the how's and why's of art pieces.

The Kennedy Center's ArtsEdge offers activities for music, theatre, and visual arts. Kids can look at and listen to art, meet artists, and discover art quotes.

The Art in Action Program is a discipline-based, sequential art curriculum designed around the works of the Great Masters. Students learn creativity, problem solving, critical thinking skills and cultural awareness. Nine sequential program levels for grades K-8 teach art appreciation, art history and art techniques. Art in Action is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to enriching children's lives through art.

Modern Teachers connects educators with MoMA’s resources and collection; includes guides, lessons, and images.

Includes: Content Links, Teacher Guides, and Student Activities, all based on the museum collection.

Resources and lessons for teaching across the arts and humanities.

ArtThink is the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art's curriculum site, which provides theme-based activities in visual arts, language arts, history and social studies.

A research-based teaching method that improves critical thinking and language skills through discussions of visual images. VTS encourages participation and self-confidence, especially among students who struggle. VTS is easy to learn and offers a proven strategy for educators to meet current learning objectives.

Provided by the National Gallery of Art, The Art Zone hosts tons of excellent interactive painting and drawing activities. Kids can work with photos and paint like the masters online.

This interactive art history game is a fun and easy way for students to learn about and interact with art history.

The Museum of Modern Art features audio, video, and interactive activities designed to teach children about modern art. These features are split into age groups and work well for any K-12 learner.

MyOats is an online community that allows students to create art with an online drawing application. The art is then rated, downloaded, and archived. This is a wonderful way for children to see and connect with other artists.

The Museum of Web Art offers an interactive creation site for kids. Users can play with interactive dots, create eraser art, and much more.

This interactive coloring book is perfect for elementary children. Kids can drag characters, letters, and colors onto the canvas to create their own coloring page.

Designed for middle school students, this art site covers visual and performing arts. Artopia gives students the opportunity to express themselves while teaching other students about style, technique, and principles of art.

Tools for concept mapping.

Here learn more about the Utah Museum of Fine Arts teacher workshops, classroom resources, lesson plans, and programs.

Here find links to this state agencies teacher resources -- there is a gateway link at the bottom of this page.

Learning and teaching resources for K-12, College, and General Learners.

The MET offers several unique ways for kids of all ages to learn and interact with art. This online museum provides a look behind the arts, museum adventures, and the how's and why's of art pieces.

Provided by the National Gallery of Art, The Art Zone hosts tons of excellent interactive painting and drawing activities. Kids can work with photos and paint like the masters online.

Designed for use in the classroom, these online features and printable files (PDFs) help educators introduce to their students the richness and diversity of works in various collections of the Metropolitan Museum.

Smarthistory.org is an open, not-for-profit, art history textbook. We use multimedia to deliver unscripted conversations between art historians about the history of art. We are seeking contributors—especially for canonical non-Western material and other survey topics not yet covered.