ULibraries Research Guides: Government Documents, Health Sciences: Basic Core

Selected Top Basics

Select “Search Government Publications” in left column, then select collection to search in FDSys.

Federal Register (daily)
Code of Federal Regulations
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government.

United States Census Bureau This link opens in a new window This database is hosted by the United States Census Bureau and provides access to a variety of U.S. Census datasets, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, annual population estimates, and the Economic Census.

County and City Data Book

Basic Core

FDLP, "The Federal Depository Library Program was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government’s information. GPO administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the public. Information products from the Federal Government are disseminated to these nationwide libraries that, in turn, ensure the American public has free access to the materials, both in print and online."

Assistance Listings
Assistance listings are detailed public descriptions of federal programs that provide grants, loans, scholarships, insurance, and other types of assistance awards. You may browse assistance listings across all government agencies to learn about potential funding sources.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Budget of the United States Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
Code of Federal Regulations
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Congressional Directory
Congressional Record (daily)
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
data.census.gov
Economic Indicators
Economic Report of the President
An annual report, issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
Federal Register
more...less...
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
GovInfo
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median pay, current needs and projections, and educational requirements for hundreds of jobs.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
Social Security Handbook
Resource for the most common questions about Social Security.
United States Code
"The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information." The FDsys website has editions back to 1994, and the HeinOnline database goes back to 1925-6.
United States Government Manual
The official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Reports
Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
United States Statutes at Large
Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
USA.gov
USA.gov is your online guide to government information and services.