Utah Architecture: Books
This guide will direct you to resources about Utah architects and architecture.
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
Utah's Historic Architectural Styles
If you are researching historic Utah architecture (i.e. more than 50 years old), an excellent place to start is Utah's Historic Architecture, 1847-1940: A Guide, written by University of Utah professors Peter Goss and Thomas Carter. This book covers the architectural types and styles you will find in Utah. We have both electronic and print versions of this resource.
Recommended Books
- Nineteenth-century Mormon architecture and city planningGeneral Collection, LVL 2: NA717 .H36 1995
Also available as an e-book - The AvenuesFine Arts Library Collection, LVL 2: NA735.S34 L47 2012 (Request at the Fine Arts Library Reference Desk)
- Utah's Historic Architecture, 1847-1940: A guideGeneral Collection, LVL 2: NA730.U8 .C37 1988 (also available in the Fine Arts Library)
- As You Pass By: Architectural Musings on Salt Lake CityGeneral Collection, LVL 2: NA735.S34 G66 1995 (also available as an e-book)
- Utah State Capitol : government civic complex centerGeneral Collection, ARC: NA27.5 2001 .S76 (log in to your library account online and submit hold request)
Special Collections Books
To access these books, visit the Special Collections Reading Room on Level 4 and request them at the service desk.
- Building Zion : folk architecture in the Mormon settlements of Utah's Sanpete Valley, 1849-1890 bySpecial Collections, LVL 4: F827 .C375 1984a
- Historic Provo : a self-guided tour of historic architecture in Provo, Utah bySpecial Collections, LVL 4: F834.P8 H57 2002
- A way of seeing : discovering the art of building in Spring City, Utah bySpecial Collections, LVL 4: NA735.S66 W29 1994
- Dwellings : a guide to early Bountiful homes built before 1900 bySpecial Collections, LVL 4: F834.B7 D84 1993
- A guide to the architecture and history of Spring City : a national register historic district bySpecial Collections, LVL 4: F834.S644 G68 2007
- The early homes of Utah : a study of techniques and materials byRequest from ARC at Special Collections, LVL 4: NA27.5 1952 .W5
- The architecture of immigration : documenting Italian-American vernacular buildings in Utah and Nevada bySpecial Collections, LVL 4: NA7127 .A83 1992
- Walking tour of historic Sandy : historic sites and other points of interest byGeneral Collection, LVL 2: F834.S36 S76 1991
- A biographical dictionary of architects practicing in Utah between 1849 and 1949 byRequest from ARC at Special Collections, LVL 4: NA730.U8 B43 2008
