Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wounded Warriors Organizations
If you are researching organizations that work with wounded warriors, you may wish to explore some of the organizations listed below.
Disabled American Veterans
Membership is available to any veterans who served during a period of war and who were wounded, disabled to any degree, or left with long-term illness as a result of military service, and were discharged or retired from military service under honorable conditions.
Paralyzed Veterans of America
Membership is free and available to US veterans who have suffered a spinal cord injury as a result of trauma or disease, which results in paralysis of more than one limb.
Military Order of the Purple Heart
Membership is open to service members and honorably-discharged veterans who can provide proof of Purple Heart Medal award.
Resources for Wounded Warriors
If you're interested in investigating some of the resources available to wounded warriors, you may want to explore some of the organizations below.
Air Force Wounded Warrior
The Air Force Wounded Warrior program works hand-in-hand with the Air Force Survivor Assistance Program and Airman & Family Readiness Centers to ensure Airmen receive professional support and care from the point of injury, through separation or retirement, for life.
Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2)
The Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2) is the official U.S. Army program that assists and advocates for severely wounded, ill, and injured Soldiers, Veterans, and their Families, wherever they are located, regardless of military status.
Fisher House provides homes on the grounds of major military and VA medical centers to enable families to be close to family members undergoing medical treatment.
Marine Corps Wounded Warrior Regiment
The United States Marine Corps Wounded Warrior Regiment provides and facilitates assistance to wounded, ill and injured Marines, and sailors attached to or in direct support of Marine units and their family members in order to assist them as they return to duty or transition to civilian life.
U.S. Armed Forces veterans—those who served our country in the Navy, Marines, Army, Air Force, or Coast Guard—account for 30 percent of all mesothelioma deaths in this country.
National Resource Directory
US government resource connecting wounded warriors, service members, veterans, their families and caregivers with those who support them.
Navy Safe Harbor
Navy Safe Harbor is the Navy's organization for coordinating the non-medical care of seriously wounded, ill, and injured Sailors, Coast Guardsmen, and their families. Through proactive leadership, the program provides a lifetime of individually tailored assistance designed to optimize the success of shipmates' recovery, rehabilitation, and reintegration activities.
Operation Warfighter (OWF) is a federal internship program for wounded, ill, and injured service members.
Semper Fi Fund
The Injured Marine Semper Fi Fund is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit set up to provide immediate financial support for injured and critically ill members of the U.S. Armed Forces and their families.
Special Operations Command Care Coalition
The USSOCOM Care Coalition is intended to provide SOF warriors and their families a model advocacy program in order to enhance their quality of life and strengthen the overall readiness of Special Operations.
University of Utah Center for Disability Services
The Center for Disability Services provides accommodations and support for the educational development of students with disabilities.
Warrior Care Blog
The mission of the Office of Warrior Care Policy is to ensure wounded, ill, injured and transitioning Service members receive high quality care and seamless transition support through proactive leadership, responsive policy, effective oversight and interagency collaboration.
Wounded Warrior Project
Wounded Warrior Project (WWP) takes a holistic approach when serving warriors and their families to nurture the mind and body, and encourage economic empowerment and engagement. Through a high-touch and interactive approach, WWP hopes to foster the most successful, well-adjusted generation of wounded service members in our nation's history.
PTSD & TBI
Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center (DVBIC)
The DVBIC is the TBI component of the Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE).
Defense Centers of Excellence: For Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury
Part of the military health care system, the DCoE's mission is to "improv[e] the lives of our nation’s service members, families and veterans by advancing excellence in psychological health and traumatic brain injury prevention and care."
Make the Connection: Shared Experiences and Support for Veterans
Make the Connection is a public awareness campaign by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) that provides personal testimonials and resources to help Veterans discover ways to improve their lives.
The PILOTS Database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Unlike other databases, the PILOTS Database does not restrict its coverage to articles appearing in selected journals. It attempts to include all publications relevant to PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress, whatever their origin without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographic limitations.
United States Department of Veterans Affairs: National Center for PTSD.
The National Center for PTSD is the center of excellence for research and education on the prevention, understanding, and treatment of PTSD.