- University of Utah
- ULibraries Research Guides
- * Marriott Library Research Guides
- Games
- Find Sounds and Media
Games
Sound Databases
Below are databases that contain royalty-free music and sounds.
-
Pro Sound Effects This link opens in a new windowPro Sound Effects® (PSE) develops highly curated sound effects libraries and software for sound artists, editors, designers, audio engineers, media companies, schools and nonprofits. We collaborate with a global network of exclusive library partners including world-class recordists, designers, and masters-of-craft that share our commitment to professional quality and innovation.
-
ccMixter This link opens in a new windowccMixter is an international community of 40,000 musicians. The database provides access to a collection of original samples licensed under Creative Commons which can be used to create tracks collaboratively. Users can listen to, sample, and interact with music within the database.
Multimedia Creation Tools
Listed below are hardware, software, and spaces available at the Marriott Library for multimedia (images, videos, animations, podcasts, etc.) creation.
-
Advanced Graphics WorkspaceLocated in the Marriott Library Knowledge Commons (Level 2)
-
Simple Video StudioEasy-to-use video production studio that requires no prior video production experience.
Image Databases
Listed below are a few databases that contain images. View our list of image databases here.
-
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new windowAnatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
-
Jstor Images This link opens in a new windowTo log into ARTstor from off campus, you must first register a (free) account within ARTstor while on campus.The Jstor Image Library is an image database featuring a range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
-
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new windowUnderground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels, beginning with underground comix from the 1960's to the works of modern sequential artists. The collection contains more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of related interviews, criticism, and journal articles.
-
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing for images by garment type, designer and brand names. Subjects covered by the database include Fashion History, Gender Studies, Marketing and Advertising, Photography, Graphic Design, Popular Culture, and more.
Download Free Software
The Office of Software Licensing has an abundance of free or discounted software for students, staff and faculty members of the University of Utah.
Some of our most popular FREE software includes Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and more) and the Adobe Creative Cloud (Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, Dreamweaver, Lightroom, InDesign, and more).
Download the Adobe Creative Cloud
Connect from off-campus
Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.
Click here:
Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar
OR Download and install VPN software on your machine.
Need help? Contact us
