Dance Research Design: Magazine & Journal Articles
Dance Research Journal
Want to explore topics that dance scholars are writing about? Start here:
Start Your Dance Research Here!
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD)Journal, magazine, and reference book articles addressing the history of theater in societies around the world; theory of theater movements and genres; and analysis of productions, companies, and individuals.
- Project MuseFull text coverage of more than 150 journals published by university presses, with a collection specifically geared toward film, theater, and the performing arts. Coverage: 1993-present.
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,040 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Citation Databases
Have you found the perfect article or book? Use the databases below to discover prior scholarship that informed and influenced your perfect resource, and which scholars have been informed and influenced since its publication.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily and contains over 70 million records. Scopus indexes over 23,400 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 publishers, including 5500 open access journals. Scopus also indexes 294 trade publications, over 120,000 conferences, and 210,000 books. Additionally, the database contains 44 million patent records from the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, and the UK Intellectual Property Office. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary content database which covers over 12,000 journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Current and retrospective coverage is provided for the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Cross-disciplinary Article Databases
Your dance research may be interdisciplinary or include a specific historical period. Explore the databases below, or check out the complete list of Marriott Library databases.
- America: History and LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present; see Historical Abstracts for world history. Covers over 2000 journals plus book reviews and dissertations.
- AnthrosourceOffers users more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge through access to past, present and future AAA publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and cross-disciplinary resources for all things anthropological.
- Art Full TextIndexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world in virtually all areas of art, architecture, and archaeology. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
- Art RetrospectiveUse to search art journalism of the 20th century (1929-84). A continuation of Art Full-Text.
- Biological Sciences CollectionThe collection is especially useful for biochemistry, genetics, and virology, offering citations from thousands of journals and conferences.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides access to the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource for the communication disciplines. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“coreâ€) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected …
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowThis is a bibliographic and full-text database covering television and film. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals and 100 books. In addition, it includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,3…
- GenderWatchA full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains archival material dating back to 1970.
- Historical AbstractsFocuses on non-US/Canada history, from 1450 to the present. Some full-text articles; most are citations with abstracts. Searches can be limited to a specific time period.
- MEDLINE PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new windowIndexing the international journal literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database which includes links to full text. 1946 to present.
- Music IndexCovering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index duly cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
- Religion & Philosophy CollectionThis database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- Sociological AbstractsCovers sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, conference papers, and book reviews.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text is a source of full-text sports & sports medicine journals, providing more than 530 journals, with full-text coverage extending back to 1985. Some journals have coverage extending earlier. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology, coaching & education, and sports medicine.
