Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Storage & Search Tools
Use these sites to find free--but not necessarily copyright free--images online.
Search multiple sources for images and media, including Google, Flickr, Wikimedia Commons & more.
This online image storage and presentation tool allows users to limit their advanced searches to images shared under Creative Commons licenses.
Google Art Project
"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
Find out where images are posted and how they're being used.
"A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone."
Bibliography & Citation Tools
The following resources are tools that will help you manage your research, bibliography, and citation process.
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. This is an open-source software product.
A web application (and self-guided tool) that helps students with all aspects of research project management: APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian documentation; annotated bibliographies; notecards; resource analysis; etc. NOTE: You must create your own “Personal ID” and password to begin using NoodleTools.
A Web-based service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. EndNote Web will also help organize references for citing in research papers.
OWL Chicago 16th
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) from Purdue University -- provides instructions for citing (and examples) sources in a variety of formats (books, journal articles, interviews, websites, ...).
Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars. USE THE Q&A LINK.
OWL MLA Guide
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) from Purdue University. MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Other Useful Citation Guides
Within the Marriott Library "How To" guides, you might find the following guides useful for managing your resaerch and bibliographies. Some of the resources are also noted to the right.