ULibraries Research Guides: Federal Online Legal Resources: Legislative

Did you know ...

Our library now has access to Congressional legislative materials going back to 1878 and earlier through the ProQuest Legislative Services. If you'd like more information on using the ProQuest dabases, see these links below:

ProQuest Quick Start: Legislative Insight

ProQuest Quick Start: U.S.Serial Set

ProQuest Quick Start: Congressional Hearings

ProQuest Quick Start: Congressional Maps

If you need further assistance using this resource, please ask a librarian.

Resource Key

- University of Utah students, faculty and staff only. Off-campus access may be available for students, faculty and staff. Resource available to public patrons at University of Utah libraries.

- S.J. Quinney College of law students, faculty & staff only.

- Resource requires password (please ask library staff to log you in).

Links without one of these keys are free and available to everyone.

Federal Legislative Materials

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaced THOMAS.gov with a new designed and comprehensive research website. It includes includes federal bill and legislative history information, as well as other federal legislative information.
govinfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including legislative materials.
LLSDC - Law Librarians Society of D.C.
Maintained by the Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C., this site provides links to online legislative histories for specific acts, many going back to the early 1900s. If prompted for a pin, enter "laws".
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Created and maintained by ProQuest, this is an index of abstracts of federal congressional materials with coverage going back to 1789. Items from the Serial Set are included through 2010, as are Congressional hearings (1824-2003), and Serial Set maps through 1969.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
ProQuest's searchable database of prepared legislative histories for major acts between 1929 and 2012.
ProQuest U.S. Bills & Resolutions
Provides searchable full text of all versions of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present.