Introduction to SPSS
- Start Here
- Social Science Data Resources This link opens in a new window
- SPSS Components
- Importing Data and Working with Syntax
- Recode Data
- General Statistics and Hypothesis TestingToggle Dropdown
- Further Resources
There is no Stats TA assistance during the summer session (May13, 2023 - August 16, 2023). The Stats TA service will return in the Fall semester.
Need help? Contact us
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
- Performing Data Analysis Using IBM SPSS by Lawrence S. Meyers; Glenn C. Gamst; A. J. Guarino Features easy-to-follow insight and clear guidelines to perform data analysis using IBM SPSS® Performing Data Analysis Using IBM SPSS® uniquely addresses the presented statistical procedures with an example problem, detailed analysis, and the related data sets. Data entry procedures, variable naming, and step-by-step instructions for all analyses are provided in addition to IBM SPSS point-and-click methods, including details on how to view and manipulate output. Designed as a user's guide for students and other interested readers to perform statistical data analysis with IBM SPSS, this book addresses the needs, level of sophistication, and interest in introductory statistical methodology on the part of readers in social and behavioral science, business, health-related, and education programs. Each chapter of Performing Data Analysis Using IBM SPSS covers a particular statistical procedure and offers the following: an example problem or analysis goal, together with a data set; IBM SPSS analysis with step-by-step analysis setup and accompanying screen shots; and IBM SPSS output with screen shots and narrative on how to read or interpret the results of the analysis. The book provides in-depth chapter coverage of: IBM SPSS statistical output Descriptive statistics procedures Score distribution assumption evaluations Bivariate correlation Regressing (predicting) quantitative and categorical variables Survival analysis t Test ANOVA and ANCOVA Multivariate group differences Multidimensional scaling Cluster analysis Nonparametric procedures for frequency data Performing Data Analysis Using IBM SPSS is an excellent text for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level students in courses on social, behavioral, and health sciences as well as secondary education, research design, and statistics. Also an excellent reference, the book is ideal for professionals and researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences; applied statisticians; and practitioners working in industry.ISBN: 9781118363560Publication Date: 2013-07-15
- ISBN: 9780335242405
- A Handbook of Statistical Analyses Using SPSS by Brian S. Everitt; Sabine Landau A Handbook of Statistical Analyses Using SPSS clearly describes how to conduct a range of univariate and multivariate statistical analyses using the latest version of the Statistical Package for the Social Sciences, SPSS 11. Each chapter addresses a different type of analytical procedure applied to one or more data sets, primarily from the social and behavioral sciences areas. Each chapter also contains exercises relating to the data sets introduced, providing readers with a means to develop both their SPSS and statistical skills. Model answers to the exercises are also provided. Readers can download all of the data sets from a companion Web site furnished by the authors.ISBN: 9781584883692Publication Date: 2003-11-24
What is SPSS?
SPSS is a data management and analysis software package, maintained by IBM. On the surface it looks a lot like a spreadsheet and performs many of the same functions. Unlike most spreadsheets, however, SPSS provides easy access to a large bevvy of statistical tests and graphics and supports much larger datasets. It is probably the most popular and well-known commercial statistical software within the Education, Sociology and Psychology department.
01 How to Use SPSS - An Introduction to SPSS for Beginners
Data used in this tutorial
To follow along with the examples in this guide, download the CSV file below. The data was collected from three publicly available reports provided by the U.S. Census Bureau:
U. S. Census Bureau. (2010). B01003 - Total Population. All Counties within Illinois. 2006-2010 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?pid=ACS_10_5YR_B01003&prodType=table
U. S. Census Bureau. (2010). B23006 - Educational Attainment By Employment Status For The Population 25 To 64 Years Universe: Population 25 to 64 years . All Counties in Illinois. 2006-2010 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?pid=ACS_10_5YR_B23006&prodType=table
U. S. Census Bureau. (2010). S1903 - Median Income in the Past 12 Months (in 2010 Inflation-Adjusted Dollars): All Counties within Illinois. 2006-2010 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?pid=ACS_10_5YR_S1903&prodType=table
Below there is a CSV file containing this data, as well as a preformatted SPSS file (with extension ".sav"). The SAV file can be opened directly in the SPSS Data Editor, however new users are encouraged to download the CSV, since uploading data from CSVs or other text-based files is a fairly common task (see the "Importing Data" tab).
- Basics of SPSS, Intro to SPSS step by step (Windows))You can learn the SPSS step by step with this handbook, you will have all the knowledge to do an analysis after completing the hand guide.
We want to thank the Instructional Services Librarian and Scholarly Commons Co-Coordinator at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Merinda Kaye Hensley, who granted permission to use their lib-guide templates.
In addition, University of Utah Professor Oakley E. Gordon, Ph.D. from the Psychology department, for allowing us to modify and display handouts from his Psy 5250/6250 class (Applied Statistics).
Finally, we'd like to thank Toni Yungai for developing this subject guide.
- Last Updated: May 12, 2023 11:38 AM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/SPSSIntro
- Print Page