ULibraries Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Find Funding Opportunities

Search National Funding Opportunities

Listed below are several databases and websites for finding grants and other funding opportunities.

Pivot-RP This link opens in a new window
If you have any questions about this database, please email - lorelei.rutledge@utah.edu; nena.schvaneveldt@utah.edu; alfred.mowdood@utah.edu - the Marriott Library links to this database but does not administer the subscription.

Locating and securing research funding is becoming increasingly competitive, as funding opportunities are limited and the number of researchers vying for those dollars continues to grow. Pivot-RP answers the growing demands on research developers to quickly discover the right funding opportunities and effectively collaborate with their colleagues. With Pivot-RP, ProQuest continues their commitment to empower researchers around the world with tools that they need at various stages of their research lifecycle. Pivot-RP is intuitive and easy to use. It is designed for a researcher - anyone from corporate to academia (faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students) can benefit from using it.
Foundation Directory This link opens in a new window
The Foundation Directory provides a variety of information about foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities. Over 120,000 profiles, 1,000,000 searchable IRS forms, and numerous maps and charts of grants data are contained in this database.
Guidestar by Candid This link opens in a new window
Guidestar provides information on IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations, including public charities, private foundations, and trade associations. Guidestar data includes revenue, expenses, balance sheets, annual reports, contact information, lists of officers and other key personnel, IRS 990s, mission statements, and governance information. The database also includes news on philanthropy, and resources for donors and volunteers. Search by name, keyword, city or state, nonprofit type, NTEE code, or income range.

Grants.gov
With an annual budget of $8.3 billion (FY 2020), we are the funding source for approximately 27 percent of the total federal budget for basic research conducted at U.S. colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
National Science Foundation
With an annual budget of $8.3 billion (FY 2020), we are the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program
The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.
National Institutes of Health
NIH offers funding for many types of grants, contracts, and even programs that help repay loans for researchers. Learn about these programs, as well as about NIH's budget process, grant funding strategies, and policies, and more.

Search University of Utah Funding Opportunities

The University of Utah offers internal funding opporunities and support systems. Listed below are a few key resources:

University of Utah Office of Sponsored Projects
Our office is responsible for the effective and timely handling of research proposals. We prepare, interpret, negotiate, and execute agreements on behalf of the University of Utah for projects funded by federal and state agencies, foundations, and other public and private sources. We also draft, negotiate, and execute awards and subawards for collaborative research.
University of Utah Funding Opportunities
From the Vice President for Research Office.
Find Funding Sources
From the University of Utah Office of Sponsored Projects.
Learn more about available funding opportunities, and find opportunities by type.
SACNAS
SACNAS is an all-inclusive community dedicated to supporting diversity and fostering success in under-represented STEM fields from students to professionals.
Undergraduate Research Opportunities (UROP)
The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) provides undergraduate students and mentors the opportunity to work together on research or creative projects.

Learn about Funding and Grant Writing

Listed below are a few online resources to learn about and improve your funding and grant writing skills.

Grants Learning Center
The Grants Learning Center is your gateway to the federal grants world. Includes articles and resources that equip current and prospective members of the federal grant community with information, answers, and tools to make your job easier.
Provided by grants.gov.
Grant Writing Tips Sheets
Many NIH Institutes put out guides and tip sheets on their Web sites. These guides can be useful resources. Here are just a few.
Provided by National Institutes of Health.
Research Mentor Network
Our mission is to provide researchers across all career stages in the biomedical, behavioral, clinical and social sciences with the evidence-based mentorship and professional development programming that emphasizes the benefits and challenges of diversity, inclusivity and culture.
Provided by National Institutes of Health.
Salt Lake Public Library Grantseeking Resources
Our free interactive workshops and trainings will teach you effective research techniques, writing processes and other tactics to help you get the most out of our Funding Information Network resources.
Provided by the Salt Lake City Public Library System.

Learn about Funding and Grant Writing from the University of Utah

Listed below are several University of Utah resources to support funding and grant writing

Research Education
Research Education provides professional development opportunities for all faculty, staff, postdoctoral scholars, students and members of the University research community, including several grant workshops.
Provided by the University of Utah.
Research Handbook
From the University of Utah Office of Sponsored Projects.
The handbook seeks to support the University's research effort by providing guidance regarding the development and administration of sponsored projects; inform investigators of their roles and responsibilities in research administration and compliance, and to indicate the roles of staff in supporting the research effort.
Grant Life Cycle
From the University of Utah Office of Sponsored Projects.
The Life Cycle helps you to understand research policies and procedures and walks you through the challenges of finding funding and applying for and administering grants.
Graduate Funding Success Workshops
Applying for graduate and post-graduate funding can be challenging. The Graduate School hosts resources and regular workshops to increase your ability to understand funding opportunities and apply for them successfully.
Provided by the University of Utah.
The Graduate School
The Graduate School fosters excellence by providing administrative structure and leadership to maintain and enhance graduate education at the University of Utah. Our programs offer financial assistance, support innovative academic opportunities, and provide professional development to students, postdoctoral fellows, staff and faculty.

Additional Grant Training Resources Online

Listed below are a few online resources related to grants.

Applying for National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural Research Grants
Click for an orientation to NIH funding, grant programs, how the grants process works, and how to apply.
Foundation Directory
Visit the Foundation Directory Online (U of U authentication required).
Foundation Directory Youtube Tutorials
The Foundation Directory has a series of youtube tutorials designed to help you learn how to apply for grants.
Grant Training Center Blog
Visit the Grant Training Center blog for information about writing successful grants and for practical advice and best practices.
Office of Sponsored Projects
For additional support, please visit the Office of Sponsored Projects page.

Create Alerts for Funding Opportunties

National Institute of Health Funding Alert
NIH Guide announcements (PAs, RFAs and Notices) are published daily. At the end of each work week (usually on Friday afternoon), NIH transmits an e-mail to NIH Guide LISTSERV subscribers with the Current Weekly Table of Contents (TOC), including links to announcements published during the week.
National Science Foundation Funding Alert
Sign up for email alerts of new funding by program group or all of NSF.

University Writing Center

The University Writing Center is here to help you become a more confident writer by providing individual consultations with peer tutors. We work on papers from all disciplines - not just writing classes. Best of all, the Writing Center is a FREE service to students and faculty of the University of Utah.

The University Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of the Marriott Library in room 2701.
Make an appointment

Graduate Writing Center

The University Graduate Writing Center provides FREE writing consultations for graduate students inside the Graduate Student Reading Room of the Marriott Library, Room 1180B. Funded by the Graduate School of the University of Utah and staffed by expert writing fellows, the new Graduate Writing Center is ready to help graduate students in all disciplines with their writing projects.

The Graduate Writing Center is open only to students pursuing Masters and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Utah.

Biomedical Engineering