Patents and Trademarks
This guide features our Patent and Trademark Resource Center's (PTRC) resources and services.
Patent Basics
Patents protect new inventions. There are three types of patents:
- Utility - protect inventions, such as iPod, chemical fertilizer, the process of manipulating genetic traits in mice. Utility patents offer 20 years of protection from the date of filing a regular patent application.
- Design - protects ornamental, non-functional designs, such as the unique shape of an electric guitar or design for a lamp. Design patent offer 14 years of protection.
- Plant - protects asexually reproduced distinct and new variety of plant, other than a tuber propagated plant or a plant found in an uncultivated state, such as roses, trees, and hybrids. Plant patents offer 20 years of protection from the date of filing a regular patent application.
- General Information Concerning PatentsThe best (and free!) introduction to patent information on the Internet.
Patent Searching
Learn about patents and search strategies:
- General Information Concerning PatentsThe best (and free!) introduction to patent information on the Internet.
- Multi-Step U.S. Patent Search StrategyThe handout and tutorial with more details about the multi-step process are available near the bottom of this page.
- USPTO's Classification ResourcesThe USPTO and other patent offices around the world use a hierarchical classification schema to organize all inventions. This shared classification is called the Cooperative Patent Classification or CPC. Identify relevant CPCs with the "Classification Text Search" then search Patent Public Search with that CPC (remove any spaces and add .cpc. at the end).
- 'How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search: A step by step strategy'A video presentation from the USPTO on the basics of doing a US patent search.
- Quick Reference Guides for Patent Public Search toolExplore these quick reference guides from the USPTO to learn more about Patent Public Search tool. We recommend you start with the Search Overview.
- Patent Public Search Micro TutorialsYouTube Playlist available for Micro Tutorial videos demonstrating frequently used Patent Public Search searches
Search for US patents using Patent Public Search:
- Patent Public Search toolLaunched Feb 1, 2022. This new search tool "provides more convenient, remote, and robust full-text searching of all U.S. patents and published patent applications."
The older search databases, PatFT, AppFT, PubEAST, and PubWEST, were retired on September 30, 2022. View the announcement here.
Patent Assistance:
- USPTO Public Search FacilityThe Public Search Facility (PSF) located in Alexandria, VA provides public access to patent and trademark information in a variety of formats including online, microfilm, and print. Trained staff are available to assist public users.
- USPTO Inventors Assistance CenterThe Inventors Assistance Center (IAC) provides patent assistance and information to the public. The IAC is staffed by former supervisory patent examiners and primary examiners who are available to answer questions and to help you make filing a patent application simple and efficient.
- Patent Electronic Business CenterThe Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) assists customers with filing electronic patent application submissions via the EFS-Web and Patent Center, and with the review of patent applications in PAIR and Patent Center.
International Patents
- PATENTSCOPE (WIPO)"The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices."
PTRC Representative
Alfred Mowdood
he/him/his
Contact:
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Pronouns: he/him/his
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Pronouns: he/him/his
Subjects: Accounting, Athletics, Biomedical Ethics, Business, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Entrepreneurship & Strategy, Exercise & Sports Science, Grants, Health Communication, Health Kinesiology & Recreation, Health Promotion & Education, Industry, Information Systems, Intellectual Property, Kinesiology, LEAP, Management, Marketing, MBA Resources, Operations & Information Systems, Parks Recreation & Tourism, Patents & Trademarks, Science, Test Preparation, Theses and Dissertations
PTRC Representative
Tallie Casucci
she/her
Subjects: Athletics, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Ethics, Engineering, Entertainment Arts & Engineering, Exercise & Sports Science, Health Kinesiology & Recreation, Health Promotion & Education, Intellectual Property, Kinesiology, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Patents & Trademarks, Statistics
