Biomedical Engineering
Writing
The best campus resource to help with your writing is the University Writing Center. They have experts who can review your work and help you improve! They offer in-person and virtual meetings.
- Writing CenterSchedule a free appointment with a writing specialist.
Managing Citations and References
We recommend using a citation management tool. Citation management tools help organize and manage your references. Most citations managers include a plug-in for Microsoft Word, which makes it easy to cite and format your references.
EndNote Basic
- EndNote Basic This link opens in a new windowEndNote Basic is a service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. EndNote Basic helps organize and format references, create footnotes or a bibliography, and collect other information related to a user's research. EndNote Basic requires users to register - since its purpose is to organize personalized research information, each user must sign into a personal account before using the service.
- Library Guide on Using EndNote BasicThis library guide contains information and tutorials about using EndNote Basic (web-browser version).
EndNote Desktop:
- EndNote DesktopPurchase the desktop program through the Office of Software Licensing at software.utah.edu for academic discount.
- Library Guide on Using EndNote DesktopThis library guide contains information and tutorials about using EndNote Desktop.
Although the University of Utah Software Licensing Office supports EndNote, there are other citation management tools available, such as Mendeley, Papers, and Zotero.
IEEE Style Resources
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) is a style primarily used in engineering.
In IEEE, your citations are in text in bracketed numbers, and your bibliography is at the end on a new page with the heading References.
- IEEE Reference GuideThis document goes over citations and references.
- IEEE Editorial Style Manual for AuthorsThis document goes over writing style in general.
- IEEE Author CenterA website with resources for authors writing in IEEE, including templates and checkers.
- IEEE StyleFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Biomedical Engineering Design Papers
BME students are frequently asked to write design papers for course assignments. Here are some resources to help you with formatting those design papers.
What journals have the best design paper examples?
As you prepare to write your design paper, it will be helpful to browse published examples.
What style should I use for BIOEN 4991 & BIOEN 4992?
Biomedical Engineering thesis writing and communication courses follow the IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering.
- For authorsThe "For authors" page includes instructions and a Word doc template for submissions to IEEE transactions on Biomedical Engineering
What is Plagiarism?
When you use other's ideas and words without giving them credit, you are plagiarising their work. The University of Utah Regulations Library defines plagiarism, along with cheating, as academic misconduct:
"II. B. “Academic misconduct” includes, but is not limited to, cheating, misrepresenting one's work, inappropriately collaborating, plagiarism, and fabrication or falsification of information, as defined further below. It also includes facilitating Academic Misconduct by intentionally helping or attempting to help another to commit an act of Academic Misconduct."
II. B. 3. "Plagiarism" means the intentional unacknowledged use or incorporation of any other person's work in, or as a basis for, one's own work offered for academic consideration or credit or for public presentation. Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, representing as one's own, without attribution, any other individual's words, phrasing, ideas, sequence of ideas, information or any other mode or content of expression."
Data Management Library Guides
Other Library Guides
University Writing Center
The University Writing Center is here to help you become a more confident writer by providing individual consultations with peer tutors. We work on papers from all disciplines - not just writing classes. Best of all, the Writing Center is a FREE service to students and faculty of the University of Utah.
The University Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of the Marriott Library in room 2701.
Make an appointment
Statistics Support
The Stats-TA position has been suspended for the 2023/2024 academic year. We recommend the following campus resources for statistics and math support:
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
