Biomedical Engineering

This link provides access to the content of two databases from Engineering Village, Compendex and Inspec. Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. More than 650,000 new records are added to the database annually from over 190 disciplines and major specialties within engineering. Compendex is updated weekly. Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 11.2 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Approximately 600,000 new records are added to the database annually. Inspec's online coverage is from 1969 to the present, and records are updated weekly.

Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 23 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Inspec's online coverage is from 1898 to the present, and records are updated weekly, with approximately 600,000 new records added to the database annually.

Arcive Only. Effective July 31st, 2013, Compendex is limited to archive-only access and is not updated with new information (see coverage date above for details). Access to current information in Compendex is available through Scopus.

Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.

This listing provides access to the Synthesis and Colloquium collections, which are interdisciplinary teaching and learning products covering new and emerging fields in the life sciences. The basic component of the collections is a 50 to 100-page "lecture" (a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic). Each lecture includes pictures, tables, and linked references to other peer reviewed articles and books. The collections and their lectures are organized by series, with each series managed by an editor who guides the lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review. New series and lectures are added continuously and existing lectures are revised periodically. Some topics which are currently covered by this database are Biotechnology, Cell Biology of Medicine, the Developing Brain, Developmental Biology, and Integrated Systems Physiology.