Listed below are several key clinical nutrition and NUIP textbooks. You can use the U Libraries catalog to find more books. Please "suggest a purchase" or email NUIP librarian Tallie, if you'd like the library to buy a book for you or your class.
Advanced Medical Nutrition Therapy by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Premier Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Premier Access also includes 10 decision-tree simulation modules in which students make patient decisions and sees how each decision impacts the outcome of the patients treatment. Advanced Medical Nutrition Therapy provides students and clinicians with the tools needed to render effective and evidence-based nutrition care plans based on the fundamentals of diet and disease. This text utilizes a practice-oriented, case-based approach that incorporates problem-based learning and engages the reader in various clinical scenarios. This approach encourages the reader to digest the didactic scientific concepts while applying them to patient-based clinical situations. Advanced Medical Nutrition Therapy begins by presenting core concepts relating to nutrition and biochemical assessment, as well as enteral and parenteral nutrition. The text then delves into medical nutrition therapy for specific disease states, as well as therapy for specific life stages. Along the way, various pedagogical features emphasize the important of evidence-based practice and a thorough understanding of current research. While appropriate for an undergraduate medical nutrition therapy course, Advanced Medical Nutrition Therapy also boasts coverage of specialized topics like oral health, as well as focused chapters on disorders of maldigestion and malabsorption. The text integrates aspects of both adult and pediatric nutrition, providing an opportunity to discuss the similarities and differences in various adult and pediatric states. With Navigate 2, technology and content combine to expand the reach of your classroom. Whether you teach an online, hybrid, or traditional classroom-based course, Navigate 2 delivers unbeatable value. Experience Navigate 2 today at www.jblnavigate.com/2.
Cancer as a Metabolic Disease by
The book addresses controversies related to the origins of cancer and provides solutions to cancer management and prevention. It expands upon Otto Warburg's well-known theory that all cancer is a disease of energy metabolism. However, Warburg did not link his theory to the "hallmarks of cancer" and thus his theory was discredited. This book aims to provide evidence, through case studies, that cancer is primarily a metabolic disease requring ;metabolic solutions for its management and prevention. Support for this position is derived from critical assessment of current cancer theories. Brain cancer case studies are presented as a proof of principle for metabolic solutions to disease management, but similarities are drawn to other types of cancer, including breast and colon, due to the same cellular mutations that they demonstrate.
Clinical Nutrition by
This second edition of Clinical Nutrition, in the acclaimed textbook series by the Nutrition Society, has been revised and updated in order to: Provide students with the required scientific basis in nutrition, in the context of a systems and health approach. Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. Each chapter identifies the key areas of knowledge that must be understood and also the key points of critical thought that must accompany the acquisition of this knowledge. Are fully peer reviewed to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective and is applicable for use by nutritionists and on nutrition courses throughout the world. Ground breaking in scope and approach, with an additional chapter on nutritional screening and a student companion website, this second edition is designed for use on nutrition courses throughout the world and is intended for those with an interest in nutrition in a clinical setting. Covering the scientific basis underlying nutritional support, medical ethics and nutritional counselling, it focuses solely on the sick and metabolically compromised patient, dealing with clinical nutrition on a system by system basis making the information more accessible to the students. This is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food sciences, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find this an important resource. Libraries in universities, medical schools and establishments teaching and researching in the area of nutrition will find Clinical Nutrition a valuable addition to their shelves.
Essentials of Writing Biomedical Research Papers by 
Ethics of Charitable Food: Dilemmas for Policy and Practice by 
Everyone Eats: Understanding food and culture by 
Metabolic Phenotyping in Personalized and Public Healthcare by
Metabolic Phenotyping in Personalized and Public Healthcare provides information on the widespread recognition that a personalized or stratified approach to patient treatment may offer a more efficient and effective healthcare solution than phenotype-led approaches. In order to achieve that objective, a deep personal description is required at the level of the genome, proteome, metabolome, or preferably a combination of these aided by technology. This book evaluates metabolic profiling and its uses across personalized and population healthcare, while also covering the advent of new technology fields, such as surgical metabonomics. In addition, the text presents specific examples of where this technology has been used clinically and with efficacy, pointing towards a framework and protocol for usage as it hits the clinical mainstream. Translates the conjunction of new surgical tools for intraoperative, real-time, metabolite evaluation and direct analysis of biofluid samples into novel options for augmented clinical decision-making Discusses longitudinal sampling from individual patients for stratified medicine Covers high resolution analytical spectroscopy and sophisticated computational modelling for prediction of adverse reactions in critical care scenarios, prognostic evaluation of cancer from biofluidism, and prognostic prediction of metabolism or response of patients to pharmaceutical interventions Encapsulates recent technology options for broader population profiling considerations, in particular, the metabolome-wide association studies (MWAS) that aid the translational researcher in identifying metabolic patterns associated with disease.
Metabolic Risk for Cardiovascular Disease by
The relationship of metabolic diseases to cardiovascular disease (CVD) is reaching epidemic proportions. This relates mostly to the increasing prevalence of obesity, the metabolic syndrome and type 2 diabetes. This book outlines and addresses the metabolic factors and related diseases that contribute to CVD, including brief introductions to metabolic pathways including lipid and lipoprotein metabolism, macronutrient fuel partitioning, insulin action and body weight regulation. Mechanisms that relate to becoming obese, maintenance of the obese state, the dyslipidemias, and glucose intolerance/diabetes are also addressed, and the importance of interventions that reduce metabolic risk factors and CVD are covered.
Nutritional and Therapeutic Interventions for Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome by
Nutritional and Therapeutic Interventions for Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome provides an overview of the current epidemic, outlines the consequences of this crisis and lays out strategies to forestall and prevent diabetes, obesity and other intricate issues of metabolic syndrome. The contributing experts from around the world give this book relevant and up-to-date global approaches to the critical consequences of metabolic syndrome and make it an important reference for those working with the treatment, evaluation or public health planning for the effects of metabolic syndrome and diabetes.
Nutrition in Clinical Practice by
Nutrition in Clinical Practice is written to guide health professionals in providing well-informed, compassionate, and effective dietary and weight-management counseling. This fully updated 3rd edition is edited by a leading authority in nutrition and preventive medicine. Practical and evidence-based, chapters address the effects of diet on health and a comprehensive array of illnesses, making it a vital and timely addition to any caregiver's library.
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease by
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease, Second Edition, focuses on the clinical applications and disease prevention of nutrition. This revised edition offers 18 completely new chapters and 50% overall material updated. Foundation chapters on nutrition research methodology and application clearly link the contributions of basic science to applied nutrition research and, in turn, to research-based patient care guidelines. Readers will learn to integrate basic principles and concepts across disciplines and areas of research and practice as well as how to apply this knowledge in new creative ways. Chapters on specific nutrients and health cover topics where data are just beginning to be identified, such as choline, antioxidants, nutrition and cognition, and eye disease. Established areas of chronic disease: obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease, gastrointestinal disease, and bone health are presented each in their own sections, which aim to demonstrate the inter-action of basic science, genetics, applied nutrition research, and research-based patient care guidelines. Given its unique focus and extensive coverage of clinical applications and disease prevention, this edition is organized for easy integration into advanced upper-division or graduate nutrition curriculums. Busy researchers and clinicians can use this book as a "referesher course" and should feel confident in making patient care recommendations based on solid current research findings.
Wardlaw's Contemporary Nutrition by
Contemporary Nutrition is a complete and balanced resource for nutrition information written at a level non-science majors can understand. Current research is at the core of the tenth edition, with revised statistics, incorporation of new results of clinical trials, and updated recommendations. The text provides students who lack a strong science background the ideal balance of reliable nutrition information and practical consumer-oriented knowledge. Always looking to make the content relevant to learners, the authors highlight health conditions, medications, food products, and supplements students or members of their families may be using. With their friendly writing style, the authors act as the student's personal guide to dispelling common misconceptions and to gaining a solid foundation for making informed nutrition choices.
Listed below are nutrition-related dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can use the U Libraries catalog to find more books.
The Cambridge World History of Food by
An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by
This leading dictionary covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health. Jargon-free definitions make this a valuable dictionary that clearly explains even the most technical of nutritional terms. From absinthe to zymogens, it covers types of food(including everyday foods and little-known foods, e.g. payusnaya) nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics.This new and fully revised edition features many entry-level web links, accessible via the Dictionary of Food and Nutrition companion website, providing relevant and up-to-date extra information. Expanded appendices contain a wealth of useful material, including Recommended Daily Allowance lists. An essential A-Z for nutritionists, food manufacturers, caterers, health-care students, food science/technology students, and anyone who has an interest in, or enjoys, food.
Encyclopedia of North American Eating and Drinking Traditions, Customs, and Rituals by
"Ostrich meat is just one food trend among hundreds covered in this appetite-whetting specialized encyclopedia. The brief, informative articles include numerous see also references; these chart variations on themes." - Rettig on Reference (Gale.com)
Encyclopedia of Obesity by
Obesity is a serious health issue and is a key discussion and research area in many disciplines from the social sciences and physical education to the health sciences. The Encyclopedia of Obesity is a comprehensive set containing nearly 500 entries that addresses the broad scope of the obesity epidemic, from molecular and genetic causes to the treatment of this disease at a large scale, public policy level. The editors have chosen topics that capture the current climate of obesity research, while still addressing and defining the core concepts related to this disease. Additionally, the majority of entries have been provided by experts from the medical and scientific research community. In many cases, entries are written by pioneering or premiere researchers in the topic at hand. This two-volume Encyclopedia provides a catalogue of entries from a variety of expert contributors from a vast array of disciplines, including molecular biology, psychology, medicine, public health and policy, food science, environmental health, pharmaceuticals, and many others to summarize pertinent topics in obesity, and related health conditions. Scholars, educators, researchers, physicians, and the general public will be able to access this resource for current, factual details on topics related to this growing epidemic. This new encyclopedia will be the most reliable, accurate, and thorough resource for information about obesity. ′Moving Forward in an Ever Expanding World′ in this section Kathleen Keller addresses the topic of a changing society that is slowly adapting to accommodate obesity. Covering recent lawsuits on fast food industries and airlines, discussing how these are telling of the decades to come. In addition, this text will look at the new frontiers on obesity treatment and research and the importance of prevention in children, and in studying obesity in a variety of ethnic groups and in developing countries. Benefits and Features " This publication will serve as a general and non-technical resource for biology, sociology, health studies, and other social science students and educators who wish to understand the development of obesity as it prevails in the United States and worldwide. " It will for the first time, allow scholars who are conducting research to access hundreds of topics related to obesity, all within a single text. " The convenient organization of this text will assist readers most when they have a specific term they wish to investigate, however, for readers who do not know the specific search term, each article is cross-referenced with other article headings. Major themes that are addresses are as follows: the prevalence of obesity (worldwide and U.S.), gender and obesity, leading institutions that are dedicated to fighting obesity, food industries, biological and genetic contributors, environmental contributors, social influences and outcomes on obesity, psychological influences/outcomes of obesity, health implications of obesity, treatments for obesity (medical and dietary), disordered eating patterns, public health issues related to obesity, obesity and the brain, ethnicity and obesity, and new frontiers in obesity research.
Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients by
The third edition of the unparalleled reference on naturalingredients and their commercial use This new Third Edition of Leung's Encyclopedia of CommonNatural Ingredients: Used in Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics arrivesin the wake of the huge wave of interest in dietary supplements andherbal medicine resulting from both trends in health and theDietary Supplement and Health Education Act of 1994 (DSHEA). Thisfully updated and revised text includes the most recent researchfindings on a wide variety of ingredients, giving readers a singlesource for understanding and working with natural ingredients. The Encyclopedia continues the successful format for entrieslisted in earlier editions (consisting of source, description,chemical composition, pharmacology, uses, commercial preparations,regulatory status, and references). The text also features aneasily accessible alphabetical presentation of the entriesaccording to common names, with the index cross-referencing entriesaccording to scientific names. This Third Edition also features: More than 50 percent more information than the SecondEdition, reflecting the greatly increased research activity inrecent years A new section on traditional Indian medicine, with informationon nine commonly used herbs More than 6,500 references Two new appendices explaining and illustrating the botanicalterminology frequently encountered in the text A revised and expanded index Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients: Used inFood, Drugs, and Cosmetics, Third Edition will continue toprovide a comprehensive compilation of the existing literature andprominent findings on natural ingredients to readers with aninterest in medicine, nutrition, and cosmetics.
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
