ULibraries Research Guides: Dentistry: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for dentistry. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, free database with biomedical and life sciences journal articles and books. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Use the free interface to look for studies and see levels of evidence. Includes Critically Appraised Topics (CAT) for dentistry.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Made to be used chairside, integrating best practices and evidence levels for clinical decision making. Use the app by creating a personal account & logging in on your device; see the instructions here.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Drug information database, monographs contain dental information. App available, click here for instructions.

ADA Library
The American Dental Association's Library has a listing of resources its members have access to.
All dentistry databases
An alphabetical list of databases identified for use in dentistry.

Other Great Resources

Resources that may be helpful for clinical settings or questions.

PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Search results are limited to specific clinical research areas. Filter information by clinical studies, systematic reviews or medical genetics.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence for clinical decision making. App available. Click here for app instructions.
Micromedex Online This link opens in a new window
Wired UHealth Network Access Only. No remote nor wi-fi access. | Drug, toxicology and acute care information tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals. Includes Toxicology Management nd access to RedBook® for daily drug pricing. App available, email apps@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code.

Resources great for literature searching and locating articles.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, free database with biomedical and life sciences journal articles and books. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents, especially good for looking at references and citations of articles of interest.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary (science, social sciences, arts, & humanities) database that indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings.

Resources to help with studying and test prep.

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
A suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy, supplemented with MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.

ADA Library
The American Dental Association has a library. Access essential dental and oral health resources and engage in expert searching for education and research.

Epistemonikos This link opens in a new window
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence - a source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence and aimed to health professionals, researchers and health decision-makers. Coverage: 2001 - present.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Find clinical evidence fast. Register for free access. Premium Pro account is fee-based.