ULibraries Research Guides: Nursing: Cite &amp; Write

Citation Management Tools

EndNote Desktop ($)
EndNote can help you manage references & pdfs, create bibliographies, and cite while you write. Manage your citations and full text pdfs. Available for purchase with an academic discount; learn more on the EndNote Desktop Guide.
Consultations available from Eccles Library experts.
Zotero (free)
Zotero is a free reference manager that works as a web browser extension to capture citation information as you are viewing the articles on the web. Learn more on this Zotero guide.

EndNote Web (free to U) This link opens in a new window
Free. User Registration Required.
EndNote Online helps organize and format references, create footnotes or a bibliography, and collect other information related to a user's research.

Papers ($)
Papers helps you collect and curate the research material that you're passionate about. Our award-winning reference manager will dramatically improve the way you discover, organize, read, annotate, share, and cite. Read more about Papers on our research guide.
Mendeley (free)
Mendeley is a free reference management program that includes various collaboration and social network features. Learn more from this Mendeley guide.

Choosing a Citation Manager
by Ismaeil Hakimi Last Updated Oct 31, 2023 960 views this year

Ask EHSL
Still not sure? Ask EHSL! We're happy to help you choose a citation manager.

APA Style: Clinical Practice References
Examples of different references useful in clinical practice (guidelines, drug information, UpToDate) in APA 7th from the APA website
APA Style: Reference Examples
Examples of different references in APA 7th from the APA website

APA Pieces overview
This PowerPoint presentation is one librarians often use to talk through APA. It discusses determining what a source is and how to locate pieces of citations.

The trickiest part sometimes is determining what a source is!

Here are common sources we see nursing students cite:

Some tricky spots:

If you're citing MedlinePlus and it says "Medical Encyclopedia," use the guidance to cite an encyclopedia.
Standalone PDFs, like a CDC Vaccine Schedule, can be reports or brochures. The same applies to patient handouts from hospitals.
UpToDate is not a journal. It's a database.
If something has a volume & issue, it's probably a journal article.

APA Style Blog
The APA Style Blog answers questions not generally covered in the manual, including FAQ's related to visual and multimedia material.

University Writing Center
Here to help you become a more confident writer by providing individual consultations with expert peer-tutors. The writing center provides services for undergraduate students, graduate students and faculty, working on papers from all disciplines, not just writing classes. Best of all, the writing center is a free service to students and faculty of the University of Utah.