ULibraries Research Guides: Nursing: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for nursing. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for aging and gerontology, contains journals, books, and reports.
AgeLine provides coverage of aging issues from individual, national, and global perspectives, providing a source of literature on social gerontology. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports focusing exclusively on the population aged 50+ and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also provides information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers. Original abstracts are generated for every citation, with index terms drawn from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging Terminology.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A large resource of behavioral science and mental health peer-reviewed literature.
APA PsycInfo is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes citations and summaries from various journals, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Also covers related disciplines including sociology, education, business, economics, and law.

Coverage spans from 1800 - present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based point-of-care resource to quickly answer nurses’ clinical questions. It includes videos and images, nursing management topics, care plans, leadership and management, continuing education modules, and additional skills.
Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
A reference tool and learning management system for nurses to refresh knowledge, or learn and test skills and procedures. Health Sciences Network only or VPN.

Other Great Resources

Resources that may be helpful for clinical settings or questions.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
• Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence for clinical decision making. App available. Click here for app instructions.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence levels for clinical decision making. Use the app by creating a personal account & logging in on your device; see the instructions here.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Drug information database, monographs contain dental information. App available, click here for instructions.
Micromedex Online This link opens in a new window
Wired UHealth Network Access Only. Drug information database with monographs, interactions, and more. App available, email ehsl-reference@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource for dietary supplements, natural medicine, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.

Resources great for literature searching and locating articles.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents, especially good for looking at references and citations of articles of interest.
Emcare This link opens in a new window
Covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes unique content and features more than a thousand journals not covered by Embase, Medline, or CINAHL.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database with articles, conference abstracts, and drug, disease and device data.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.

Resources to help with studying and test prep.

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.