English
English Department Librarian
Need Help? Ask Your Librarian
My name is Rachel Ernst, and I'm the librarian for the English Department.
My job is to help you to learn and understand how the library systems work. If you need a hand with a research project or question, or if you are having difficulty navigating the library's services, please don't hesitate to reach out. Just email rachel.ernst@utah.edu or call 801-581-3886.
If you need immediate help between the hours of 9-5, you can use the Library Chat box below to speak directly with a library staff member.
Using Library Resources
When you need scholarly articles to support your research, start by searching for your topic in one of our research databases. Use keywords that are the important points of your topic.
- Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIncludes the MLA Directory of PeriodicalsThis database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to records in over 3,000 journals and series, as well as a collection of monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
If you need to brush up on your literary theory, the library has many resources you can use, including books and databases.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new windowThis database contains over 240 alphabetically-arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also includes information on figures who did not explicitly deal with but still affected literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and forms of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped lite…
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
