ULibraries Research Guides: Pharmacy: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for pharmacy. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, free database with biomedical and life sciences journal articles and books. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Drug information database, monographs contain dental information. App available, click here for instructions.
Micromedex Online This link opens in a new window
Wired UHealth Network Access Only. Drug information database with monographs, interactions, and more. App available, email apps@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code. Includes pricing from RED BOOK.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence for clinical decision making - drug information comes from Lexicomp. App available. Click here for app instructions.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence levels for clinical decision making. Use the app by creating a personal account & logging in on your device; see the instructions here. Drug information from Micromedex.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Explore online leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Updated regularly, AccessPharmacy gives instant access to videos, self-assessment,
and leading pharmacy textbooks .

All Pharmacy Databases
A list of all pharmacy databases.

Other Great Resources

These resources are helpful in answering drug information questions if the above resources were insufficient.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, IPA This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), coverage includes clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database with articles, conference abstracts, and drug, disease and device data.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Daily Med (NLM) This link opens in a new window
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Trusted health information for you.
From the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, MEDLINEplus is for anyone with a medical question- both health professionals and consumers.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Some more resources that may be helpful for clinical settings or questions.

ECRI Guidelines Trust™ This link opens in a new window
An interactive practice guidelines portal. Free registration required.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Search results are limited to specific clinical research areas. Filter information by clinical studies, systematic reviews or medical genetics.

Resources great for literature searching and locating articles.

Embase This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents, especially good for looking at references and citations of articles of interest.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary (science, social sciences, arts, & humanities) database that indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. Excellent for citation chaining.

Resources to help with studying and test prep.

Anatomy.TV Logo

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Explore online leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Updated regularly, AccessPharmacy gives instant access to videos, self-assessment,
and leading pharmacy textbooks .
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.

Martindale's Virtual Pharmacy, Pharmacology & Toxicology Center
more...less...
A gateway to several tools and resources for Pharmacy. Jim Martindale's The Reference Desk has long been a pathfinder for internet tools.

CFR, the Code of Federal Regulations (govinfo) This link opens in a new window
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. The annual update cycle is as follows: titles 1-16 are revised as of January 1; titles 17-27 are revised as of April 1; titles 28-41 are revised as of July 1; and titles 42-50 are revised as of October 1. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized in sections, and most citations to the CFR refer to material at the section level.