Communication: COMM 1610 News Writing

Scholl, J. (2022, August 27). Who is paying to push for and against the Little Cottonwood Canyon Gondola?. The Salt Lake Tribune. https://www.sltrib.com/ Help with using a newspaper database to find opinion (video)

There's a lot to cover in journalism ranging from the 'low hanging fruit' of ethics to the business side of things (print vs. digital, for example), to abstract analysis of existential paradigms in this era of massive change and transition.  Librarians like me are eager to help you get through this with your ideas -but also with the greater goal of seeing you graduate. If you're coming to this cold and would like more help, just contact me for an appointment -I'll even entertain a group of you- at dale.larsen@utah.edu.

News + Current Events - (not all academic/scholarly, but full of good rhetoric on all sides of an issue)
   US Newsstream (most U.S. local papers are in here, full text!)
   Nexis UNI (aka LexisNexis -the darling of comm/journalism folks forever)

​   CQ Researcher (Big Picture context written by and for journalists)

Historic & Complete Runs of Major Newspapers
   New York Time Historical Newspaper (1851-2012)
   Los Angeles Times Archive (1881-1992)
   San Francisco Chronicle Archive (1869-current)
   Utah Digital Newspapers (starts in 1800s!)

How do I get a specific newspaper like The Deseret News? 1m30s youtube video

As a journalist, how can we get a hold of people?  Some public versions of websites can be tricky to glean information, but the library can help.  In some cases, contact information is provided in library directories that are part of research databases

Marriott Library Directories Databases Index

   Mergent Intellect  Business Information (national, local, public, private)
   Guidestar Premium   Non-profit Organizations Directory
   Foundation Directory   Grant funding organizations

Something to remember: in the section above -scholarly articles typically have the names and contact information of all the primary researchers so they can be contacted as part of the scholarly conversation -if you find a scholarly article that you like: contact the author with a few questions: it's fun and you can build social capital within your field of interest!

Scholarly & Academic Research (what's this mean again? video)
Communication & Mass Media Complete (theory and comm-specific disciplinary work -many of the databases below greatly supplement your research)

Sociological Abstracts (sociology & social work -one of my favorites)
PsycINFO (psychology, but with many applications in social sciences)
Business Source Premier (business)
PAIS (public policy and analysis)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (politics)
Film and Television Literature Index

Academic Search Ultimate (big mash of everything)
Library Catalog Advanced Search (big mash of everything)