Communication: Quantitative

Intro Quant Comm Rsrch, COMM 3710

Pew Research Center. (2014, March 7). Millenials:
Unmoored from institutions [Infographic]. Retrieved
from http://www.pewresearch.org/

How on earth did I cite this!?  look in the next
column over -->

Finding social-sciences information isn't too bad, but finding resources that produce data for you to look at in the scholarly requirements for the COMM 3710 class can be tricky.  Each database listed below has potential, but also see the tips/suggestions on the side of each for help.

Note: this is intended to accompany a librarian-taught research lab session.  If you're coming to this cold and would like more help, just contact me for an appointment -I'll even entertain a group of you- at dale.larsen@utah.edu.

1. Trends and Ideas
(these are great for getting the creative juices going, but aren't necessarily considered scholarly)

CQ Researcher (What is important to U.S. voters right now)

Pew Research Center (non-partisan public data)

US Newsstream (was Proquest Newsstand) (most U.S. newspapers -including today)
 

2. Scholarship in the social sciences
   Sociological Abstracts (Sociology & Social Work)
   PsycINFO (Psychology)
   Education Full Text & ERIC (Education)
​
   Communication & Mass Media Collection (Communication)
   Communication & Mass Media Complete (Communication)
Academic Search Ultimate (A big mash of many disciplines)
Library Catalog: USearch (multi-disciplinary -highly recommended)


3. IMPACT!
(impact can be measured by "sorting by times cited")

Scopus  -Amazing/Awesome database, all scholarly:
            tip 1: select "social sciences & humanities" at the search page (unchecking the others).
            tip 2: Do a search and in the results, click "cited by" as the sorting option (right-hand side).  The most cited, most influential articles will now appear at the top.

Web of Science (humanities, social sciences appear here too)

Google Scholar (fun discovery too, not always complete)

Context searching on the Web
(note: these are sometimes helpful, but be wary in using a source until you've verified its authority with your instructor!)

Just like an expert witness in a court, a Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) that is also non-profit may perform research and self-publish it on a really great looking website.  It might be unbiased and worthwhile, but it also may be funded by a for-profit company interested in shaping public opinion.  Take care!

search in google (add your topics/keywords, no space after the colon)
policy institute:homelessness
research institute:homelessness

ALSO: Pot luck! (change out my keyword for yours!)
survey:exceptionalism
questionnaire:voluntary simplicity

also try:
methodology:search term
literature review:search term
proposal:
grant:

Informal Street Food Lit Review EXAMPLE

[I found this one in sociological abstracts}
("street food" OR "food truck* OR antojitos OR "taco cart") AND quantitative

MY WORDS

What do street vendors and their customers think is important?
Quant questionnaire to vendors/customers in Bangkok, Thailand.


ARTICLE QUOTE SUPPORTING/REINFORCING MY STATEMENT

From the vendors’ point of view, it was found that cheaper pricing and quicker food delivery were the major contributors. On the other hand, from the customer point of view, convenient location, flexible business hours, fulfill customer food requirements, and cooking demonstration were noted significant.


APA CITATION

Khan, E. A. (2017). An investigation of marketing capabilities of informal microenterprises. The International Journal of Sociology and Social Policy; Bingley, 37(3/4), 186–202. http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/IJSSP-09-2015-0094


 

[I found this one in communication & mass media complete]
"street food" OR "food truck*" OR antojitos OR "taco cart"

MY WORDS

How do food trucks use Twitter -and do customers care?
Content Analysis of tweets for/about multiple food trucks in a metro area.


ARTICLE QUOTE SUPPORTING/REINFORCING MY STATEMENT

Most communication displayed was one-way model of communication where the mobile food trucks pushed information to followers. While some interaction occurred with the foodies, it was not a two-way symmetrical model.


APA CITATION

Edwards, J. T., & Maben, S. K. (2019). Mobile Communication and Food Trucks in an Urban Environment: A Case Study. Southwestern Mass Communication Journal, 34(1), 1–13.

 

 

[I found this one in communication & mass media complete]

Consumer AND food AND survey

MY WORDS

Locavores: How to measure local foodies' sincerity, and how to define ideologies to measure the local food scene participants

 

ARTICLE QUOTE SUPPORTING/REINFORCING MY STATEMENT

three core beliefs that constitute locavorism are also mutually reinforcing. Opposition to long-distance food systems stems from a comparison of distantly and locally sourced foods, together with beliefs that the latter are higher in quality and more nutritious (lionization). Lionization then lends support to the idea that longdistance food systems cannot be trusted
 

APA CITATION

Reich, B. J., Beck, J. T., & Price, J. (2018). Food as Ideology: Measurement and Validation of Locavorism. Journal of Consumer Research, 45(4), 849–868. https://doi.org/10.1093/jcr/ucy027


 

[I found this one in scopus]

 ("street food" OR "food truck*" OR antojitos OR "taco cart") AND ("mixed methods" OR quantitative)

MY WORDS

Who is making my food, and how safe is it? Sociological survey info on Brazilan Food Vendors. Cross-sectional study of beach vendors in Brazil.
 

ARTICLE QUOTE SUPPORTING/REINFORCING MY STATEMENT

…22.6% said not to wash their hands at all, which is consistent with the findings of various studies… a lack of hand washing is one of the main causes of street food contamination.
 

APA CITATION

Alves da Silva, S., Cardoso, R. D. C. V., Góes, J. T. W., Santos, J. N., Ramos, F. P., Bispo de Jesus, R., Sabá do Vale, R., & Teles da Silva, P. S. (2014). Street food on the coast of Salvador, Bahia, Brazil: A study from the socioeconomic and food safety perspectives. Food Control, 40(1), 78–84. Scopus. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.foodcont.2013.11.022

 

 

 

Mind Mapping :-)

Dale's starter kit for engaging with complicated literature:

First Stop: Library Research:
As you find articles that you think are relevant, 
   get a small amount of citation information (title, journal, etc.)
   read the first page or so and write a sentence about what the article is saying
   find a quote that agrees with the sentence you wrote

Second Stop: Synthesis
After you have a list of articles, try to put them into a cohesive order where each article contributes to a greater narrative or point.  This can be helped greatly by a chaotic mind map where you try to tie concepts to each other into a greater whole

(Dale's sample is not the only way to do it, but it is one way that works for me :-)

Citation Help

APA Style gettin' you down?  Here's my top picks for 'Citation Management':
 

Zotero (great for gathering and managing citations!)
(Our resident Zotero expert is ready to help you)
This video is a good crash-course into what you need and what to expect
Dale's Video Overview! 6 minutes of your life!

NoodleTools (great for getting APA/MLA minutia correct!)
(how to use NoodleTools)

keywords to try

some QUANTITATIVE KEYWORDS
reliability
statistics, statistical
test, pretest, postest
​correlation

some QUALITATIVE KEYWORDS
case study
discourse analysis
focus group
interview(s)
narrative

Subject Guide

Dale Larsen's picture
Dale Larsen
Contact:
dale.larsen@utah.edu

I love to help with your research: from just seeing the assignment, to wrapping up with citation management -drop me a line or come by 1726C on the first floor of the Marriott Library

OFFICE HOURS
Send me an e-mail -I'd love to hear from you!

Tip

Don't fear the "Find It" button!


Here's the rule: click on it and either find a link to the article in another database -or when confronted by "NO ELECTRONIC FULL-TEXT" -request the item yourself at Inter-Library Loan (ask me if you get stuck for more than 60 seconds, I can help: dale.larsen@utah.edu)

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library