Communication: COMM 5630 History of Comm
Help with Newspaper Research (primary & secondary sources)
|
|
|
Fred Toyota in front of the OK Café in |
Researching history can be a ton of fun -but I recommend you ask for a lot of help along the way. Libraries can offer many different ways of getting into primary and secondary sources, but we are in that remarkable bridge era between published print things (like books) and born digital or digitized objects: which can be confusing. Don't give up, we're here to help!
Open Web Searches/Sites to Consider
The Digital Public Library of America
google primary source search (archives can be found this way)
oral history:japanese relocation
interview:japanese relocation
archive:japanese relocation
usa.gov:japanese relocation
university of utah:topaz
Primary sources found in library databases NEW!
Archives Unbound: Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers
Archives Unbound: Final Accountability Rosters of Evacuees
Archives Unbound: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
Secondary Sources Recommended Starting Points
Marriott Library Catalog
perform a keyword search -then sort by "books"
suggested keyword search (cut and paste and customize to your search)
"university of utah" AND X
utah AND X
history AND X
"university of utah" AND history -there are quite a few books on this topic alone that are worth looking for.
SPECIFIC JOURNALS TO SEARCH
Utah Historical Quarterly
Search at the publisher's website
Search this journal in the database America: History & Life
Protip: how to just search this journal (video)
Western Historical Quarterly
Search at the publisher's website
Search this journal in the database America: History & Life
Protip: how to just search this journal (video)
University of Utah Daily Chronicle in the Utah Digital Newspapers site. Also note: there's a genuine card catalog for the Chronicle up in Special Collections on the 4th floor! Go dig around and ask for help -this is a fantastic hidden resource!
Utonian (University of Utah Yearbooks) -complete run up in Special Collections -did something happen in the year you're writing about -go look and see what they said in the yearbook!
RECOMMENDED DATABASES TO SEARCH (for these resources, intentionally include location keywords like Utah or "University of Utah")
Hathi Trust (millions of ebooks, full text searchable)
JSTOR (greatest hits of academic scholarly publishing -including history.)
Utah Digital Newspapers (historic Utah papers)
ProQuest Newsstand (Utah papers (and many other U.S. papers))
America: History & Life
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (up through 1984 -worth a quick look)
How can we find the voices of people and their experiences (or recalling those experiences) through popular media like magazines and newspapers? Just a few short years ago, this meant getting acquainted with microfilm, but recently, more and more newspapers are presented in libraries from the moment of their first edition to the current date (aka, a 'complete run'). Here's some recommendations:
NEWSPAPERS
US Newsstream (many newspapers in the U.S. -only going back about 20 years- for older events, see lists below)
Protip: how to search within a single newspaper, like The Salt Lake Tribune (mercifully short video)
The Baltimore Afro-American* (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender* (1910-1975)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1993) -Note: for current years see: US Newsstream
The New York Times (1851-2014) -Note: for current years see: US Newsstream
NEW! The Denver Post (1894-present)
The Pittsburgh Courier* (1911-2002)
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-present)
Times of London (1785-2013)
Wall Street Journal (1889-2000) -Note: for current years see: US Newsstream
The Washington Post (1870-2002). -Note: for current years see: US Newsstream
[Note: can you read chinese?]
Shen Bao (China) (1872-1949)
*due to segregation, this newspaper was created by and for traditionally African-American communities
MAGAZINES
Master File Premier (many magazines in the U.S. -only going back about 20 years- for older events, see lists below)
TIME (1923-2000)
Women's Magazine Archive -one of the rare resources that archived advertising
LIFE (on Google Books, if you need access to a complete issue, ask me: dale.larsen@utah.edu)
Keywords to try
Keep a list as you search, some are inevitably better than others:
"japanese american internment"
"japanese internment"
"japanese relocation"
"Relocation centers"
Tule Lake, California; Minidoka, Idaho; Manzanar, California; Topaz, Utah; Jerome, Arkansas; Heart Mountain, Wyoming; Poston, Arizona; Granada, Colorado; and Rohwer, Arkansas.
nationalism
propaganda
"japanese american"
Executive Order 9066
"war relocation authority"
Primary & Secondary Sources
Primary Source:
First hand experience (they were there at the event/time/place)
interviews, account, actual writing (like a diary), photographs, video, etc.
Secondary Source:
Second hand experience -they weren't there, but are;
describing, discussing, interpreting, analyzing, evaluating, summarizing the experience of someone at the event/time/place/etc.
Want to see some samples?
Utah Communication History Encyclopedia
Index to the U Chronicle Newspaper
Did you know that there is a well developed index for the University of Utah Chronicle that you can use for your research? On the 4th floor of the Marriott Library, in the Special Collections room -look for this card catalog (in photo) -and make sure to ask for help from the reference desk: tell them what you're looking for and they'll get you started.
Citation Help
Citation Styles gettin' you down? Here's my top picks for 'Citation Management':
NoodleTools
(how to use NoodleTools)
Subject Guide
I love to help with your research: from just seeing the assignment, to wrapping up with citation management -drop me a line or come by 1726C on the first floor of the Marriott Library
OFFICE HOURS
Send me an e-mail -I'd love to hear from you!
