Art Appraisal: Print Resources
Additional Library Resources
The Katherine W. Dumke Fine Arts & Architecture Library located on the second floor of the Marriott Library is home to the Fine Arts Reference collection. This reference collection contains thousands of works that focus on art, artists, music, film, architecture, and theater. Please feel free to stop by the Fine Art Reference desk for help with your research.
Biographical dictionaries-a sampling
- Thieme Becker (German) Fine Arts Reference N40 T4 v. 1-37
Most comprehensive bio. Dict. Of artist from antiquity to present. Separate Bibliography. Twentieth century not included.
- E. Benezit (French) Fine Arts Reference N40 B47 1999 v. 1-14
Directory of painters, sculptors, and graphic artists of all times and nations. Directed to general readers and collectors.
- Contemporary Artists Fine Arts Reference N6490 C 6567 vol. 1-4
Provides comprehensive profiles of contemporary artists including biographical data, list of Exhibitions, critical essays, artist's statements, and representative work.
- Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers Fine Arts Reference N40 B945 1964 vol. 1-5
Short biographical information
- McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art Fine Arts Reference N33 M23 vol. 1-5
Biography of painters, sculptors, architects, industrial designers and decorative artists cross-referenced to stylistic articles, articles on cities, major monuments and museums, definitions of terms, articles on various schools of painting, etc.
- Hislop's Official International Price Guide to Fine Art Fine Arts Reference N8670 H57 2002
Guide to international art auctions and sales.
- Davenport's Art Reference & Price Guide Fine Arts Reference N8675 D38 2004
Includes biographical information on artists, and pricing information on works of art.
Print resources on Utah Artists
- Artists of Utah Fine Arts Reference N6530.U8 O45 1999
Compilation of short biographies on hundreds of Utah related artists.
- Utah Art, Utah Artists: 150 Year Survey Marriott General Collection N6530.U8 S943 2001
Another great work dealing with
Other materials available
- Art Terms and Techniques Fine Arts Reference N33 M37 1991
Concise definitions of visual art terms
- Oxford's Companion to Art Fine Arts Reference N33 09 1970b
An introduction to visual arts, biographical articles, terms, historical art of various nations.
- Picture File-located on level 2 of the library in the general collection area near the HD call numbers.Cardboard backing. Available for checkout.
- Slide File-located in the Fine Arts Collection. Indexed by subject or artist. Limited Availability. Contact E. Church for more information.