ULibraries Research Guides: Art Appraisal: Electronic Resources

Need help? Contact us

Art Images Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Current Artstor platform expected retirement of the site/URL at the end of July 2024. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform.

To log into ARTstor from off campus, you must first register a (free) account within ARTstor while on campus.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding our areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.

Art on the Web

The University of Utah subscribes to a number of online art databases. These databases all have something unique to offer. Some are collections of images while others are collections of online journals with a focus on art. These databases are available to all University students and staff. Please feel free to contact me via my profile box on the right side of this page, our "Ask the Library" chat box, or stop by the reference desk in the Knowledge Commons on the second floor of the Marriott Library if you need help navigating these online resources.

Disclaimer

Art Journal Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a database that features full-text articles, abstracting and indexing of a number of peer-selected publications, podcasts, and page images. The subjects covered by this database include fine, decorative, and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, architecture, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. The database also indexes a growing selection of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art. The full text is provided for artic…
Art Full Text is a database that features full-text articles, abstracting and indexing of a number of peer-selected publications, podcasts, and page images. The subjects covered by this database include fine, decorative, and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, architecture, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. The database also indexes a growing selection of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art. The full text is provided for articles from more than 270 periodicals as far back as 1997, along with indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984 (including 260 peer-reviewed journals), as well as over 18,000 art dissertations, art reproduction records, and more. The database is updated daily and as new information is available.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art Retrospective is a record of contemporary art history that provides access to over half a century of art literature. In addition to many English-language art journals, Art Retrospective also covers a number of publications in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. The database allows users to view contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire moveme…
Art Retrospective is a record of contemporary art history that provides access to over half a century of art literature. In addition to many English-language art journals, Art Retrospective also covers a number of publications in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. The database allows users to view contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and gives access to artists' interviews, commentaries, and more. In total, Art Retrospective contains almost 600 publications over 55 years (many of them peer-reviewed), citations to over 25,000 book reviews, indexing of art reproductions to help researchers in focusing on a single artist or on individual works, and searches based on keywords, subject headings, personal names, article title words, organizations, publications, and year.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Current Artstor platform expected retirement of the site/URL at the end of July 2024. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform.

To log into ARTstor from off campus, you must first register a (free) account within ARTstor while on campus.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding our areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a bibliographical database of scholarly writing about the history of western art. The BHA encompasses fine arts such as painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture, as well as decorative and applied arts and crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art. The BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs and articles from thousands of periodicals in many languages.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online (formerly the Grove Dictionary of Art) contains over 45,000 signed articles on visual arts, with more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies. The collection also includes more than 6,000 searchable images and over 40,000 image links to museums and galleries. The database is updated three times a year with new material and corrections, and covers a number of subjects including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.

Marriott Library Online Resources

Utah Artists Project. The goal of the Utah Artists Project is to improve access to information about and knowledge of the work of Utah's most prominent visual artists--beginning with a core list of 200 artists. Artist pages include biographical information, images of artwork, archive materials, and lists of ephemera.

Subject Guide

Luke Leither

Email Me

Contact:

801/587-8452

Subjects: Architecture, Art and Art History, Art Appraisal, City & Metropolitan Planning, Development, LEAP, Material Collection, Studio Arts

Art Auction Sites

Artfact Live! is the world's premier live auction bidding platform, enabling collectors and dealers around the globe to bid online in real-time on over 100,000 upcoming items for sale at auction. More than 150 traditional, international auction houses host their auctions exclusively on the Artfact Live! platform.

Artnet is the place to buy, sell and research fine art online. Our online Gallery Network is the largest of its kind, with over 2,200 galleries in over 250 cities worldwide, more than 166,000 artworks by over 39,000 artists from around the globe. The Network serves dealers and art buyers alike by providing a survey of the market and its pricing trends, as well as the means to communicate instantly, inexpensively and globally.

AskART is an online database containing over 35,000 American artists from the early 16th-Century through the present. Criteria for artist inclusion are that the artist was born in the United States, spent a significant part of their career here, or although briefly in residence, created work of ongoing historical interest to Americans. Includes auction house directories and sale records.