Newspapers as a research tool

Find a hard copy

• The Salt Lake Tribune is available free to U-card holders from the Campus Readership Service newspaper boxes on campus.

• The most recent two weeks of the Salt Lake Tribune are available at the Marriott Library in Current Periodicals.  This area is just south of the Fine Arts Library on Level 2.

Find it online

• Salt Lake Tribune's website
• Utah Digital Newspapers (1871 - 1919 as of November 2018, but this is updated frequently)
• Salt Lake Tribune in the Marriott Library catalog
• Marriott Library subscribed databases:

Find it on microfilm​

To view the Salt Lake Tribune on microfilm, click on the links below to request it from our catalog.  The request will pull it from our Automatic Retrieval Center and be ready for you to pick up at the first floor security desk in 10-15 minutes.

Need help using the microfilm scanners?  Visit these tutorials for viewing microfilm and microfiche.

If you're unable to find it anywhere else, Special Collections on Level 4 has hard copies of past editions of the Salt Lake Tribune.  Requests for these must be made by contacting Special Collections through phone (801-581-8863) or email rather than through the library website.

A published index of the Salt Lake Tribune exists for the period 1941-1991. The paper copy can be found in Special Collections. Please call them directly to request it at (801) 581-8863. A copy on microfilm can be found next to the microfilm readers in the Knowledge Commons on Level 2 of the Marriott Library. A selective index, in the form of a clipping file, can be found in the Special Collections Print and Journal Vertical & Clipping File. The most recent articles in the clipping file are from 2001. 

Find a hard copy

• The Deseret News is available free to U-card holders from the Campus Readership Service newspaper boxes on campus.

• The most recent two weeks of the Desert News are available at the Marriott Library in Current Periodicals.  This area is just south of the Fine Arts Library on Level 2.

Find it online

• The Deseret News Website
• Utah Digital Newspapers (1850 - 1888 as of November 2018, but this is updated frequently)
• Deseret News in the Marriott Library Catalog
• Marriott Library Subscribed Databases:

Find it on microfilm​

To view the Deseret News on microfilm, click on the link below to request it from our catalog.  The request will pull it from our Automatic Retrieval Center and be ready for you to pick up at the first floor security desk in 10-15 minutes.

Need help using the microfilm scanners?  Visit these tutorials for viewing microfilm and microfiche.

Need help using the microfilm scanners?  Visit these tutorials for viewing microfilm and microfiche.

If you're unable to find it anywhere else, Special Collections on Level 4 has hard copies of past editions the Daily Chronicle.  Requests for these must be made by contacting Special Collections through phone (801-581-8863) or email rather than through the library website.

Why Use the Daily Utah Chronicle for Research?

• Keep up-to-date with campus events
• Reporting on historic events that took place on the U of U campus
• Research U of U institutional history

The Daily Utah Chronicle is an independent student-run newspaper at the University of Utah.  "The Chrony", as it is affectionately known, began publication in 1892. 

The Western Americana Vertical & Clipping File has clippings from the Deseret News, the Salt Lake Tribune, and the Daily Utah Chronicle filed by subject. in the Clipping Files. These clippings are on broad subjects dealing with Utah, the University of Utah, the American West, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (The Mormons), important people (mostly Utahns or Western individuals), and a few issues of national importance with an emphasis on Utah (i.e.: Abortion, Equal Rights Amendment, etc.).

Find Newspapers by County in Utah

The Utah Press Association has a list of newspapers by county in Utah.

Many of these are partially digitized and freely available through the Utah Digital Newspapers. You may also find some of them in microfilm through the Marriott Library catalog. To search the catalog:

1. Go to the Marriott Library homepage. Search for the title you want to find in the USearch box. Click on the gray search button to run the search.
    
2. Look through the search results to find the newspaper you want. In this case, we searched the Milford Monitor. The catalog entry shows that it is available in microforms. To find out which issues or volumes we hold, click on the link that says "Click Request: Microforms"
   
    
3. You should see a list of our holdings for this newspaper available in microfilm. If you are a student, faculty and staff member, you can request the microform using your uNID and password. If you are a community patron, you can visit the first or third floor security desks or the second floor Knowledge Commons to have the item requested for you. The item will be retrieved from the Automated Retrieval Center (ARC) and be available for you to pick up at the West security desk in 15 minutes.