Newspapers as a research tool
An introduction to using newspapers for research at the Marriott Library.
Databases for International Newspapers
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a searchable collection of digital replicas of newspapers published in English and a variety of other languages. The collection focuses on the history and politics of diverse peoples and cultures during the 19th and early 20th centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony or death notices and more. Includes Latin American and South Asian Newspapers.
Middle Eastern Newspapers
- Middle East NewspapersThe Marriott Library has a special collection of Middle Eastern newspapers within our extensive Middle East collection.
How can I find papers from a certain country?
To search for articles in recent papers, use the database, Nexis Uni.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
- Select the Source Directory: Browse
- Filter by: Country
- Click on the link that says News
OR
For historic papers, use World Newspaper Archive:
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a searchable collection of digital replicas of newspapers published in English and a variety of other languages. The collection focuses on the history and politics of diverse peoples and cultures during the 19th and early 20th centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony or death notices and more. Includes Latin American and South Asian Newspapers.
- Click on Country to sort the list by country of publication
How do I read my paper if its on microform?
