Newspapers as a research tool
Digitized newspapers
Growing out of the United States Newspaper Program (USNP), an effort led by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC) to identify, gather and microfilm newspapers published in the US, the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) is a partnership between the NEH, LC and individual states to provide free online access to historic United States newspapers. Utah's contribution takes the form of Utah Digital Newspapers, headquartered here at the Marriott Library. The central access point is Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, at the Library of Congress. Similar projects are under way in many other countries, noteworthy among them: France,
New York Times
Find a hard copy
-
Current papers are available free to U-card holders from the Campus Readership Service newspaper boxes on campus.
-
The most recent two weeks of the New York Times are available at the Marriott Library in Current Periodicals. This area is just south of the Fine Arts Library on Level 2.
Find it online
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full text of many U.S. and international news sources. The collection includes coverage of major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Also includes archives for the Salt Lake Tribune and Deseret News.
- New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the searchable text of the New York Times from 1851-2016. Many parts of the text besides the articles themselves are also searchable, including short items like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page.
Wall Street Journal
Find a hard copy
-
The most recent two weeks of the Wall Street Journal are available at the Marriott Library in Current Periodicals. This area is just south of the Fine Arts Library on Level 2.
- Wall Street Journal on Microfilm1889 - 1959
Microfilm is stored in our Automatic Retrieval Center (ARC).
Items stored in the ARC will have the phrase "ARC Click Request:" in the Location field.
Log into your account using your uNID and password in order to place a request.
After your request has been submitted you can pick up your item at the Security & Information Desk on Level 1. An email confirmation will be sent to you when the item is available. Items typically are available within 15 minutes during open library hours. Long runs of microfilm may take longer than 15 minutes to be pulled. - Wall Street Journal on Microfilm1959 - 2006
Microfilm is stored in our Automatic Retrieval Center (ARC).
Items stored in the ARC will have the phrase "ARC Click Request:" in the Location field.
Log into your account using your uNID and password in order to place a request.
After your request has been submitted you can pick up your item at the Security & Information Desk on Level 1. An email confirmation will be sent to you when the item is available. Items typically are available within 15 minutes during open library hours. Long runs of microfilm may take longer than 15 minutes to be pulled.
Find it online
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes Databases: Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Newsstream, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal.
- Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a full-image archive of the Wall Street Journal. Every issue from 1889-2011 is included and features the complete paper cover-to-cover with full page and article images in PDF form.
Los Angeles Times Archive
How do I read my paper if its on microform?
Databases for U.S. Newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersAccess to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program. (Library of Congress)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, and more. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers, and a selection of full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and others.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
