|
|
|
How would a civil engineer approach putting a race track together that would serve drivers, fans, and the people who actually have to live with the thing on their front step? [1] T. Clarkson, "CAR interviews Hermann Tilke, the F1 architect," CAR Magazine, August 27, 2014. [Online]. Available http://www.carmagazine.co.uk. [Accessed Oct. 12, 2017]. |
Out on the open web, there are many points of view and contexts that can be overly generic. Research scholarship in a particular discipline has much greater focus and value: especially to those practicing in that discipline, but it can be frustrating to use unless you have a strategy.
TIP #1: know that a discipline (like engineering) will have a meaningful vocabulary/jargon that is discipline and application specific. For example:
Solar Panels = Photovoltaic cells
TIP #2: keep a record of synonyms and related words to your technology in a spreadsheet of terms used -and number of times they led to a good and usable source. Terms change over time, so record which terms are most successful for searching. Note: the database Engineering Village is fantastic for this -look for the facet in the search results called controlled vocabulary.
Solar Panels
silicon
semiconductors
cell arrays
thin films
photovoltaic
TIP #3: keep a record of what terms you searched and in what resources -if you can do this as a team then you won't be duplicating efforts -the library visits are structured to do this somewhat, but communicating to team mates with a written record helps efficiency.
OneNote, EverNote, Google Drive doc, Box.utah.edu, etc. are all good shared spaces to keep research records in.
Library Resources for Library Research Class #2
Finding Subjects, Keywords, Discipline Focused Vocabulary & Jargon
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > E > Engineering Village
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > I > IEEE Xplore
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > A > American Chemical Society Journals (ACS)
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > A > Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Journals
FIND a book/encyclopedia and see table of contents, indexes, chapters for breakdown of terminology
Searching by Impact
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > E > SCOPUS
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > W > Web of Science
also: Google Scholar
Searching for Companies/Industries
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > E > Business Source Premier (in search results, use facet: company)
www.lib.utah.edu > Research Databases (tab) > W > IBISWorld Industry Research (in a report, use tab: major companies)
also on google manufacturer:solar company:solar
Getting an effective search through on a database with millions of sources is helped a ton by AND, OR, NOT operators. Lots of examples below, but AND is the most common:
Technology AND history
Solar and history
"solar energy" and history
Technology AND (fundamentals OR application OR basics)
Technology AND (manufacture OR construction OR fabrication)
Technology AND (prototype NOT commercial)
Technology AND (future OR development) NOT history
LIBRARY CLASS #2 OBJECTIVES
1. Students will learn how information has value in disciplinary contexts, and how to work with disciplines as an outsider.
2. Students will learn how to utilize the idea of Research as Inquiry (instead of end result)
3. Students will learn keyword searching strategies with boolean operators
ALSO: Introduction to Library Services: What on earth can I do if the perfect article is unavailable to me via the library? How do I get it for free?
 |
ELECTRIC AUTOMOBILE: Major categories breakdown w/ key terms
Vehicle Attributes, pros/cons Electric motor/transmission Range anxiety Differences between gas and electric Life of vehicle Applications and scalability hybrid
Energy storage/battery Lithium ion Lifespan/lifecycle Solid state battery Rechargeable Energy storage
Charging Home charging Super chargers Rechargeable Charging speeds vs. infrastructure Residential grid Regenerative braking
Manufacturing/recycling Environmental effects Lithium mining Rare metals recycling Lithium supply (and demand)
Motor Permanent-magnet brushless drive Lifespan/lifecycle |
[2] Nissan Motor Company, "2017 Nissan Leaf," 2017 Nissan Leaf, [Online]. Available https://www.nissanusa.com. [Accessed Oct. 12, 2017].
[3] J. Cole, "Longer range 2016 Nissan Leaf coming this fall? We think so, here is why," Inside EVs, [Online]. Available https://insideevs.com. [Accessed Oct. 12, 2017].
What is the completed library assignment supposed to look like? Here's a pdf sample I made up -(and you can ask for help too -love to help!! dale.larsen@utah.edu)
