Audio-Visual Archive: News

Specializing in unique moving image and sound collections from Utah and the West

Contact Us

For more information about the AV archive or access to our collection don't hesitate to contact us directly:

Molly Rose Steed                        Moving Image and Sound Archivist

Jessica Breiman                                    Audio-Visual Assistant

Phone                                        (801) 585-6200

News Collections

A0010 AirMed

Recordings of television news stories related to University Health Care's medical air transport system.

A0061 The Great Railroad Race

KSL news documentary about the transcontinental railroad.

A0195 KRSP Free Speech Series

Radion interviews on local issues 1984-1986.

A0286 Japanese American Citizens League

This collection consists mostly of 16mm films of Japanese culture in Utah.  Several reels include footage of 1920 Utah current events.  The colleciton also contains a 1972 newsreel.

A0303 KUTV News

The largest collection in the Audio-Visual archive.  The KUTV news collection consists of local and regional news and documentary footage dating from the late 1960s to the early 2000s.  An excellent resource for Utah history and local reaction to national and international events, the KUTV news collection is available for research and educational use.  Both commercial and non-profit broadcast and documentary use require permission from KUTV.

A0355 Craig Wirth

Extensive television news reports and documentaries made by Wirth during his long career in the television news industry in Salt Lake City, Los Angeles, Milwaukee, and New York, and includes raw footage, research and source videos and completed works.

A0374 Dan Bammes

 Recording of Bammes' news program, The Wasatch Gazzette, which aired on Salt Lake City's K-Bull Radio.

A0391 Alf Engen

This collection includes news reports and interviews featuring ski legend Alf Engen.

A0428 Diane Orr

Documentaries by local broadcast journalist and independent filmmaker Diane Orr.  The films, largely dating from the 1970s, cover numerous importand issues and events, including the 1976 Teton Dam disaster, Idaho's 1961 SL-1 nuclear meltdown, the American Indian Movement's occupation of Wounded Knee, and many others.

A0431 KUED Television

Local public television productions including Press and Politics and Insight programs highlighting politicians Norm Bangerter and Jake Garn.  The colleciton also includes numerous documentaries on Utah history and issues.

A0482 Dresser Dahlstead

Utah native Dresser Dahlstead talks about his career in radio and television from KLO Ogden to San Francisco, NBC and Armed Forces Radio.

A0565 Eugene Whitaker

Audio recording of the story of the Deseret News and and KZN (now KSL) radio, Utah's first radio station

A0561 Alan Moll

Recordings of radio interviews and news reports compiled by Moll during his time at Los Angeles radio stations KLAC and KHJ as well as Utah's KDYL.  Subjects include the 1964 elections, other national issues, Hollywood and local California and Utah news stoires.  Moll is the reporter or interviewer on the majority of the recordings.  Minnesota native Allan Moll was a radio broadcaster in California and worked for Utah's KDYL radio and Channel 4 television at the beginning and end of his career, respectively.

A0590 Ski Utah

Includes some news stories related to Utah's ski industry as well as promotional films for Utah's winter sports industry.

A0747 Louise Degn

News stories and documentaries by Utah native Louise Degn, a veteran reporter and producer at KSL-TV, who has taught at both BYU and the University of Utah.  Although this finidng aid lists only material from the first years of her career later matierial is available as well.  Please contact the audio-visual archivist for assistance with this collection.

A0831 Judith Dwan Hallet

Documentaries and news reports by local journalist and independent filmmaker Judy Hallet.  Subjects include Utah artists and dancers, the plight of Native Americans, polygamy, and other local and national issues.

A0917 Keith B. Farr

Historic radio programs (1940s-2000s) and radio history retrospectives from Utah, California and the United States at large.  Includes some historic news broadcasts such as a 1941 report on the attack on Pearl Harbor.

A1050 Rocky Mountain Power

Includes news footage of stories relating to Utah's power company.

A1055 Don Gale

KSL editorials 1980-1997.

'83 State Street Flood

About Subject Guides

Audio-Visual subject guides outline the collections you can use to research different subjects. 

Collections are listed by accession number with a description of its contents.  Some will have only brief descriptions while others will contain detailed lists or link to more comprehensive Special Collections finding aids. 

Contact us for more information about collections that interest you.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library