Moving Image & Sound Archive: Access & Use
Access the Archive
The Moving Image & Sound Archive is located in Special Collections on Level 4 of the J. Willard Marriott Library. Its content spans a variety of audiovisual formats, the majority of which are obsolete. Because most of our materials are old, rare, or difficult to play back, users must work with digital copies rather than with the original recordings. Although this means there are sometimes longer waits for access to audio and video recordings than to other kinds of Special Collections, it also means that many items can be accessed from home upon request even if they aren't streaming in the Digital Library.
Archival recordings are prioritized for digital preservation and access based on a variety of factors, including content, format condition and stability, and user requests. Many but not all items listed in the collection guides have been digitized and are available upon request. New digitization may take some time and can't always be guaranteed, but requests are always encouraged and help the Archive better understand its users' needs. Please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions or requests!
Request Moving Images and Sounds
To access audio and video recordings from home, any user can use the Special Collections Reproduction Request Form. Download the form, fill it out, and send it to an archivist. Content still stored on its original, analog format may not be readily accessible, but we do our best to fulfill all requests.
Use or Publish Moving Image & Sounds
If you want to post an item from Special Collections online, use it in a video or audio production, or publish it in a book or article, you'll need a Use Agreement to accompany your Reproduction Request Form. If the item you're planning to use has rights holders other than the University of Utah, you will need to secure those permissions yourself.
The Marriott Library's Copyright Overview and Resources page and the subject guides below can help you figure out your project's copyright needs!
Copyright for the Fine & Performing Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated Sep 22, 2021 813 views this year
Distinguishing Between Copyright and Right of Privacy in Online Teaching
by Allyson Mower Last Updated Aug 13, 2020 15 views this year
Fundamentals of Academic Authorship in the U.S.
by Allyson Mower Last Updated Jun 8, 2018 18 views this year
How to Get Permission to Show a Movie Outside Class
by Allyson Mower Last Updated Oct 11, 2021 139 views this year
Permission Free Resources
by Allyson Mower Last Updated Jul 20, 2020 262 views this year
Scholarly Publishing and Copyright
by Christy Jarvis Last Updated Jan 25, 2021 796 views this year
by Allyson Mower Last Updated Jul 31, 2018 464 views this year
For more information about the Moving Image & Sound Archive or access to our collections, please don't hesitate to contact us directly or fill out the Special Collections Feedback Form.
Molly Rose Steed, Asst. Head, Moving Image & Sound Archivist: email@example.com
Rebecca Roper, Moving Image & Sound Digital Archivist: firstname.lastname@example.org