Dance Research Design: Scholarly & Primary Sources: Books, Ephemera, & More
UofU School of Dance Theses
University of Utah Dance Theses (print & electronic)
- Dissertations & Theses: GlobalProvides full-text access to dissertations and theses from nearly all North American universities and many international universities, published from 1997 to the present, with a mix of some full-text and some citations-only entries before that date.
Related Guides
Find books, e-books, videos, & more at Marriott Library
- Usearch: Marriott Library CatalogFind books, e-books, journals (print and electronic), CDs, DVDs, digital images, manuscripts, and much, much more.
- Special Collections at the Marriott LibraryThe Special Collections Department collects and preserves materials that are rare or one-of-a-kind and which often require unusual care. The department's mission statement is to acquire and make available books, periodicals, documents, photographs, films, and original materials documenting the history of Utah, the Mormons, and the American West.
Academic libraries around the world have special collections departments with similarly unique materials, often with a regional/geographic focus. Be sure to look for their websites, too.
- Marriott Library eBook CollectionsThis link will take you to the current e-book collections to which Marriott Library subscribes.
Get materials from other libraries
WorldCat, New York Public Library (NYPL), and Google Books all search materials owned at other libraries. Use the Interlibrary Loan link to request they be sent to you here at Marriott Library.
- WorldCatFind materials owned by libraries around the world. You may discover materials not owned by Marriott Library, but which can be requested through Marriott Library's Interlibrary Loan service (see link below).
- Marriott Library Interlibrary LoanRequest books, articles, media, and more. Most items can be delivered to you for free. Timeline for delivery may range from 48 hours for electronic articles to a week or more for some books.
- Google BooksProvides online, keyword-searchable access to out-of-copyright books and magazines scanned from library collections around the world. It also provides the user a preview of "in-copyright but out-of-print" and "in-copyright and in-print," which can be requested through Marriott Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Digital Collections of Primary Sources
Libraries, museums, corporations, and cultural institutions have begun to digitize their one-of-a-kind physical collections, making them available to researchers around the world. Below are just five such collections, starting local and broadening to a more global perspective. There are MANY more digital collections available than what are listed here. Look for them via a search engine by looking for the term "digital collection" and your topic keyword(s).
