EndNote Desktop

This tutorial will walk you through using the latest desktop version of EndNote.

Create a Library

  1. Go to File > New to create a new library.  
  2. My EndNote Library.enl is the default name but you can rename it.
  3. Save to your Documents or Desktop.
  4. A corresponding folder with the same name is automatically created to contain the data for your library.

Set up Import Filters

  1. Go to Edit > Import Filters > Open Filter Manager
  2. Select the databases you use and close box.
    1. select generic filter >  RefMan RIS

Now when you select Import > File, the selected filters will show on your list of Import Options.

Set up to find full text

Configure EndNote preferences to find full text available from campus libraries.

  1. Windows:  go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text
  2. Mac: go to EndNote > Preferences > Find Full Text
  3. Copy & paste these URLs into the relevant boxes:
    • Open URL Path = http://bit.ly/uu-fulltext
    • Authenticate with = https://login.ezproxy.lib.utah.edu/  
  4. Use Find Full Text

Set up PDF Handling

  1. Windows:  go to Edit > Preferences > PDF Handling
    Mac: go to EndNote > Preferences > PDF Handling
  2. Select options for
    • Renaming PDFs  Author+Year+Title  or other choices
    • Auto Import Folder - If selected, imports publisher's PDF automatically into the EndNote Library when PDF is added to the Import Folder. 
      • Note:  The auto-imported PDF creates a new reference in the EndNote library rather than attaching to an existing reference.
      • Caution:  Only publisher PDFs will have meta-data which populates the citation information in EndNote. 

Edit the Journals Term Lists

  1. Go to Tools > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List
  2. In the Terms tab, select all the existing terms (Windows: Ctrl+A; Mac: Cmd+A) and hit the Delete Term button to clear the list
  3. In the Lists tab, select Journals and hit the Import List... button.
  4. Choose the Medical.txt file and the file should load.
    • For Macs, you may need to navigate to Applications > EndNote X7 > Terms > Medical.txt
    • For Windows: default folder is  C:\Program Files\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists
    • For 64-bit Windows, default folder is C:\Program Files (X86)\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists
  5. Now hit the Update List... button to get the latest updates. This may take a few minutes.
  6. Go back to the Terms tab to make sure the list is correct. You can highlight a term and manually edit the entries if necessary.
  7. Next, to make sure the style is using the correct substitution, go to "Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager".
  8. In the list of styles, highlight the style you are using and click the "Edit" button.
  9. Click on "Journal Names" on the left.
  10. Make sure the style is using the Full Name or one of the Abbreviations as needed.

Important Points about Libraries

  • No limit to the number of references in a library; recommended not to exceed 100,000 (X7 or previous version.)
  • No limit to the number of libraries
  • You can open more than one library at a time
  • Only one library can be shared with EndNote Online account.
    • X7 can share with other X7 users (up to 14 users.)
    • X8 can share with X8 or X7 users (up to 100 users.)
  • Only one library can be synced to your EndNote Online library.
    • If you need more than one library synced with an online EndNote, contact us, we can help.
  • A library can be independently moved, copied, renamed or deleted using Windows Explorer; always move, copy, rename or delete both the name .ENL file and the .DATA folder. The .DATA folder is considered an extension of the library and must always be saved in the same directory.
    • Best practice: Use File > Compressed Library (.enlx) and save your library as a compressed library before moving or renaming it.
Library Summary
  • Go to the Tools menu and select Library Summary
    • Includes library name, last saved date, number of records, number of groups, reference types used, number of file attachments, number of figures, number of items in term lists
  • Right click on a specific reference to see a Record Summary