EndNote Desktop

This tutorial will walk you through using the latest desktop version of EndNote.

1. Create a Library

  1. Open EndNote, or go to File > New to create a new library.  
  2. My EndNote Library.enl is the default name but you can rename your library.
  3. Save to your local computer, such as  Documents or Desktop.
  4. A corresponding folder with the same name is automatically created to contain the data for your library.
    1. Both the .enl file and the data folder must reside in same location.

Creating an EndNote Library in Windows

Creating an EndNote Library in macOS

2. Journals Term Lists - edit for each new library

Note: Journal Term Lists need to be defined for each (new) library. All other set up options are one-time tasks in your EndNote Desktop program.
EndNote 21/20 Support to Generate full or abbreviated journal names
New, unpopulated EndNote Library:
  1. Go to Library > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List
  2. In the Lists tab, select Journals and hit the Import List  button.
  3. Choose the Medical.txt file and the file should load.
    • For Macs, you may need to navigate to Applications > EndNote X9 > Terms > Medical.txt
    • For Windows: default folder is  C:\Program Files\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists
    • For 64-bit Windows, default folder is C:\Program Files (X86)\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists
Existing, populated EndNote Library:
  1. Backup your existing EndNote Library.
  2. Go to Tools > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List
  3. (If new library with no references, skip this step.) In the Terms tab, select all the existing terms (Windows: Ctrl+A; Mac: Cmd+A) and hit the Delete Term button to clear the list
  4. In the Lists tab, select Journals and hit the Import List... button.
  5. Choose the Medical.txt file and the file should load.
    • For Macs, you may need to navigate to Applications > EndNote X9 > Terms > Medical.txt
    • For Windows: default folder is  C:\Program Files\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists
    • For 64-bit Windows, default folder is C:\Program Files (X86)\EndNote (EndNote Version Number)\Terms Lists
  6. Now hit the Update List... button to get the latest updates. This may take a few minutes.
  7. Go back to the Terms tab to make sure the list is correct. You can highlight a term and manually edit the entries if necessary.
  8. Next, to make sure the style is using the correct substitution, go to "Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager".
  9. In the list of styles, highlight the style you are using and click the "Edit" button.
  10. Click on "Journal Names" on the left.
  11. Make sure the style is using the Full Name or one of the Abbreviations as needed.

3. Set up to Find Full Text

Configure EndNote preferences to find full text available from campus libraries.

  1. Windows:  go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text
  2. Mac: go to EndNote > Settings> Find Full Text
  3. Copy & paste these URLs into the relevant boxes in Preferences:
  • Open URL Path
https://na04.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/01UTAH_INST/openurl? 
  • Authenticate with 
https://login.ezproxy.lib.utah.edu/  

Note: Older Open URL Path at http://bit.ly/uu-fulltext continues to work; but updating to current path is recommended.

Use Find Full Text found under References tab.

4. Set up PDF Handling

  1. Windows:  go to Edit > Preferences > PDF Handling
    Mac: go to EndNote > Preferences > PDF Handling
  2. Select options for
    • Renaming PDFs  Author+Year+Title  or other choices

Auto Import Folder - If selected, imports publisher's PDF automatically into the EndNote Library when PDF is added to the Import Folder. 

  • Cautionary Notes:
    • Use Auto Import Folder cautiously:
    • The auto-imported PDF creates a new reference in the EndNote library rather than attaching PDF to an existing reference.
    • Only publisher PDFs with meta-data will populate the citation information in EndNote. 

5. Set up Import Filters

To add import filters to your EndNote Library:

  1. Go to Tools > Import Filters > Open Filter Manager
  2. Select the databases you use and close box. Examples for two common filters:
    1. select generic filter >  RefMan RIS
    2. select PubMed filter >  PubMed(NLM)

*IMPORTANT*

An EndNote library consists of multiple files!

A library can be independently moved, copied, renamed or deleted using File Explorer; always move, copy, rename or delete both the name .ENL file and the .DATA folder. The .DATA folder is considered an extension of the library and must always be saved in the same directory.

Get help! Request a consultation

Ask a Question

Need Full Text?

Look for this button to link to full text options:

Find It icon which links to full text from U Libraries licensed databases.