EndNote Desktop

• Groups
  Create a group for any topic you want, then easily drag and drop references from your library into the group. The same reference can appear in multiple groups and is not duplicated when you do this.
• Group Set: Create a group set to organize multiple related groups. For example, you may make a group set for Bats and create sub-groups for Chiroptera and Echolocation underneath the main group set.
• Smart Groups
  Define a search parameter and give this group a name. Your existing references that match the parameters will automatically show up in the group. We call this a Smart Group. Your Smart Groups will instantly update as you add more references to your library that fit your Smart Group’s parameters.
• Create from Groups
  From the Groups drop down menu, select Create From Groups. Pick at least two groups and select your Boolean operator of choice. Give this group a name and you’ve created a Combined Group. This group is also a smart group and will update as your component groups change.
• Tags
  EndNote 21 introduced tags as a second method to categorize records. Use up to 7 colors. Tags can add another classification layer or an alternate organization system. Create Tags by selecting "Create Tag" from the "Tags" menu or by clicking the + next to the "Tag" section of the left-hand pane. Name the tag and select a color. Apply tags by dragging and dropping references to the appropriate tag on the left-hand pane, or manage tags for a reference within the "Summary" tab of the right-hand reference pane.

EndNote 20 (Windows) group sets (YouTube, ~30 seconds)

EndNote 20 (Windows) custom groups (YouTube, 1 minute)

Make sure your preferences are configured to find full text.

1.     Select the records to find and attach full text to.
2.     Click the Find Full Text under References tab or click on icon at the top of your library.
3.     Enter your University of Utah uNID and password to authenticate
4.     You can monitor attachment progress in the My Library panel, under Find Full Text.
5.     The full text PDF article is now attached to the EndNote record. In addition, EndNote automatically creates a copy of the article and places it in the data folder. The data folder is associated with the Library of the same name and is essential for the proper operation of the EndNote program. DO NOT place items directly into the data folder. All items should be attached via the EndNote record. Based on where you saved your Library you should see an .enl file and .data folder with the same name.

Setting Preferences for Full Text in EN 21 Windows

Setting Preferences for Full Text in EN 21 Mac

When Find Full Text does not find and attach the PDF to the citation, you can manually attach the PDF (or any file) to the File Attachments field in an EndNote citation.

You can attach almost any type of file and up to 45 different files to a single reference including images, figures, and PDFs.

• Save files to your computer
• When the citation is is your library, drag and drop the file onto your selected citation.  The file appears in the File Attachments field.
• Or  open selected citation by clicking on it in your library to open it,
  • Right-click in File Attachments field to add files

Attaching Full text manually in EN 21 Windows

Attaching Full text Manually in EN 21 Mac

Please follow the below steps to find and remove duplicates from your EndNote™ library:

1. With the Library window open, click on the All References group to show all references.
2. From the Library menu, choose Find Duplicates.
   EndNote will display a Find Duplicates dialog, where you can compare duplicates and decide which version to keep and which to delete.
3. For each set of duplicates, you have the option to:
   • Click Keep This Record to save that particular reference and throw the other one in the Trash.
   • Click Skip to leave both references in the library, intact. They will appear in a temporary Duplicate References group, so you can review them later.
   • Click Cancel to automatically instruct EndNote to select the most recently-entered version(s) of each duplicate reference as the one(s) to be removed. If you move the selected references to the trash, they will be removed from the library, removing all duplicate copies EndNote found. All duplicates  (including the original copy of the reference which will not be selected when the group window is created) will appear in a temporary Duplicate References group if you wish to review them. Do NOT simply move all references in the Duplicate References group to the trash unless you want to remove all copies of all references duplicated, including the original.