Philosophy: Home

Find Books, Databases, Journals and more on philosophical topics.

Philosophy

Areas of study in Philosophy range from the history of philosophy to schools of philosophy to study of individual philosophers and philosophical issues. The Marriott Library has rich resources in all these areas. The book and journal collection is large, and there is also a wealth of information in electronic formats. This is a guide to the basic material to do research in Philosophy. It is intended as a starting place and is thus not a comprehensive list of tools but a selective and general guide.

 

Getting Started

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This is an online, full-text encyclopedia developed by Stanford University. Well-known contributors have been asked to submit articles in their areas of expertise. The database is searchable by keyword and one can browse through an alphabetical list of subjects covered. All articles contain bibliographies and their are links in the articles and bibliographies. Though this endeavor holds great promise in that the contributors will be able to update their articles and bibliographies with the new developments in their fields, it remains very incomplete.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This encyclopedia includes many topics not yet covered by the Stanford site, and though the entries are more elemental than the Stanford site, they are suitable for undergraduates and laypeople.

Noeisis: Philosophical Research Online Limited
This is an online search across eight metasites, and is maintained by professional philosophers. Browsing is not available but if you want to perform a search, this is the place to start.

MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Science
This searchable interdisciplinary database provides articles by leading researchers in the field of Cognitve Science. Articles in the "Philosophy" area cover classical topics to the latest research. Good Bibliographies.

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
This site is a comprehensive, browsable guide to philosophy material on the Internet. The table of contents contain 16 categories which lead to lists of links on almost every philosophical topic.

EpistemeLinks.com
This site includes thousands of sorted links to philosophy on the web.

Voice of the Shuttle- Philosophy Page
Basically a very large list of Philosophy topic links.

Get Help with Philosophy Research

Allyson Mower's picture
Allyson Mower
Contact:
Scholarly Communications & Copyright Librarian
J. Willard Marriott Library
295 South 1500 East Room 5103
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
(801) 585-5458
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library