Philosophy: African-American Philosophy
African-American Philosophy
“African-American philosophy would take as its subject matter African-Americans. Now I could think of a variety of ways in which that subject matter might enter into or overlap with more traditional areas of philosophy. For an example, questions of social justice, obviously; questions of personal identity; personal continuity; and strategic issues in action theory and applied social philosophy. [...] And of course there is historical African-American philosophy having to do with Du Bois or Alain Locke and others.” Adrian Piper, in George Yancy’s African-American Philosophers (1998), pg. 59.
HIstory of Philosophy (General)
African-American Philosophers by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection (B944.A37 A37 1998 )
Black Book: Wittgenstein and Race. Richard Jones
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B3376.W564 J66 2013
Black Natural Law. Vincent W. Lloyd
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185.6 .L63 2016
Blues Legacies and Black Feminism. Angela Davis
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection ML3521 .D355 1998
Women, Culture, and Politics. Angela Davis
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185.86 .D382 1989
Women, Race, & Class. Angela Davis
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection HT1521 .D38 1981
The American Evasion of Philosophy. Cornel West
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B944.P72 W47 1989
Keeping Faith: Philosophy and Race in America. Cornel West
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185.615 .W427 2008
Breaking Bread. bell hooks and Cornel West
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185.86 .H735 1991
Philosophy Born of Struggle. Leonard Harris
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185 .P46 1983
The Philosophy of Alain Locke. Alain Locke. Leonard Harris (ed.)
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185.97 .L79 P48 1989
Women of Color and Philosophy. Naomi Zack
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B105.W6 W64 2000
Bachelors of Science. Naomi Zack
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B801 .Z33 1996
On Race and Philosophy. Lucius Outlaw
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185.615 .O9 1996
Ethics + Value Theory
Black Womanist Ethics by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection (BJ1275 .C33 1988 )
Religion and the Pure Principles of Morality (online only). Maria Stewart
The Ethical Dimensions of Marxist Thought. Cornel West
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B3305.M74 W473 1991
The Underclass Question. Bill Lawson
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185.86 .U49 1992
Fieldwork in Familiar Places: Morality, Culture, and Philosophy. Michele Moody-Adams
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection BJ52 .M66 1997
Affirmative Action: Social Justice or Unfair Preference. Albert Mosley
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection KF3464 .M67 1996
The New Ethics: A Tour of the 21st Century Moral Landscape. Anita Allen
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection BJ1581.2 .A55 2004
Thinking About Race. Naomi Zack
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection HT1521 .Z33 2006
Vessels of Evil: American Slavery and the Holocaust. Thomas Laurence
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E441 .T47 1993
Metaphysics + Epistemology
A Voice from the South by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection (E185.6 .C77 1969)
David Walker’s Appeal to the Colored Citizens of the World. David Walker
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E446 .W177 2000
Between Slavery and Freedom. Howard McGary
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E444 .M44 1992
“Unfinished Lecture on Liberation--II” Angela Davis in Harris’s Philosophy Born of Struggle
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E185 .P46 1983
Existence in Black. Lewis Gordon
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B936 .E85 1997
Uneasy Access: Privacy for Women in a Free Society. Anita Allen
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection HQ1236.5 .U6 A44 1988
Rationality and the Structure of the Self, Volume I and Volume II. Adrian Piper
Free to access and read online from Marriott Library's digital collection
- Anton Wilhelm Amo - PhilArchiveReview of Amo's 1743 dissertation "On the Apathy of the Human Mind" by Dwight Lewis
Logic + Formal Methods
Post-Analytic Philosophy by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection (B935 .P67 1985 )
An Introduction to Logic: From Everyday Life to Formal Systems. Albert Mosley
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection BC 108 .M74 2009
Aesthetics
Black Is Beautiful by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection (BH301.B53 T39 2016 )
Funkaesthetics. Luis Jacob, Adrian Piper, et al.
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection ML85 .F86 2009
