Philosophy: American Indian Philosophy
American Indian Philosophy
“Instead of developing an idea of cultural movement that has primitive at one end of the spectrum and modern at the other, great care must be taken to identify tribal societies and Western thinking as being different in approach to the world but equal in their conclusions about the world.” Anne Waters in American Indian Thought (2004), pg. 5.
HIstory of Philosophy (General)
American Indian Thought by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection (E98.P5 A44 2004 )
Native Pragmatism: Rethinking the Roots of American Philosophy. Scott Pratt
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B944.P72 P74 2002
The Primal Roots of American Philosophy. Bruce Wilshire
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection B893 .W55 2000
An American Urphilosophie. Robert Bunge
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E99.T34 B85 1984
The American Indian Mind in a Linear World. Donald Fixico
Marriott Library Special Collections E98.P5 F59 2003
God is Red. Vine Deloria
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection BL2776 .D44 1973
The Main Stalk: A Synthesis of Navajo Philosophy. John Farella (on order)
Ethics + Value Theory
The Sacred: Ways of Knowledge, Sources of Life by Call Number: Marriott Library Special Collections E98.R3 B45 1996
Ethics of Belief: Morality and the Will to Believe (dissertation from Yale; currently unavailable through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global). John DuFour
The Structure of a Moral Code. John Ladd
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E98.E83 L3
Metaphysics + Epistemology
The Metaphysics of Modern Existence by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection (BL390 .D43 1979 )
Living Life’s Circle. Claire Farrer
Marriott Library Special Collections E99.M45 F37 1991
“The Lakota Sun Dance: historical and contemporary perspectives.” Arthur Amiotte in Sioux Indian Religion: Tradition and Innovation by Raymond J. DeMaillie
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E99.D1 S5 1987
Red Earth, White Lies. Vine Deloria
Marriott Library Special Collections E98.F6 D35 1995
Contemplations of a Primal Mind. Gabriel Horn
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E90.H67 A3 1996
Holy Wind in Navajo Philosophy. James McNeley
Marriott Library Special Collections E99.N3 M317
Native Science: Natural Laws of Interdependence. Gregory Cajete (on order)
Native Wisdom: Perception of the Natural Way. Ed Eagle Man McGaa (on order)
Logic + Formal Methods
Native American Mathematics by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E59.N8 N37 1986
Aesthetics
Turning the Feather Around by Call Number: Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection N6537.M656 M67 1998
Turning the Feather Around. George Morrison
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection N6537.M656 M67 1998
The Telling of the World. W. S. Penn
Marriott Library Level 2: General Collection E98.F6 T245 1996
A Certain Lack of Coherence. Jimmie Durham (on order)
