American Indian Studies
A guide with resources and tips for doing research in American Indian Studies
TRANSFORM Librarian
Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study including, but no limited to biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is a strong bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
-
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic journals for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to their perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a full-text collection of more than 300 publications offering both national and regional coverage. The collection contains publications from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Wee…
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Topics include world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and others. The collection indexes more than 3,100 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. Coverage dates vary by title.
-
Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new windowIndian Claims Insight is a one-of-a-kind research tool that allows researchers to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims against the U.S. Government. The collection includes docket materials for all Indian Claims Commission cases and cases that preceded and followed the commission's existence.
-
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. To search across all of The University of Utah's Adam Matthew collections go to Adam Matthew collections.
-
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowFrom historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
-
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
-
Meriam Report On Indian Administration And The Survey Of Conditions Of The Indians In The US This link opens in a new windowThis collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.
-
North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new windowNorth American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the full text of over 400 scholarly peer reviewed journals by over 100 publishers in the humanities and social sciences.
Suggested Search Terms
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas -- Ethnic identity
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas -- In music
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas -- Social conditions
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas in art
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas in literature
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas in mass media
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas in motion pictures
- Native Americans
- Native Americans -- Civil rights
- Native Americans -- Ethnic identity
You can narrow your search by adding your topic to your search terms. Don't forget to check the database subject terms/thesaurus, and ask a librarian if you want help.
