ULibraries Research Guides: Master's of Business Creation : Staying Aware of Trends in Your Industry

Finding Background Information on Your Industry

One important element of planning, creating, or building a business is staying abreast of trends that might affect your industry. The following databases can help you do this.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier is a great place to search for trends in your industry. It also has the full text of Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, and several other academic and trade sources
Gale Access Databases This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile, which is part of the Gale Access Databases, is a great place to look for access to current periodicals, like the most recent issues of The Economist
A comprehensive collection of databases covering a wide selection of subjects.
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive is the fully searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs, business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843, the archive offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys. It is an unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a full-image archive of the Wall Street Journal. Every issue from 1889-2011 is included and features the complete paper cover-to-cover with full page and article images in PDF form.

Check out the video below, where Business Librarian Lorelei Rutledge explains how to access Business Source Premier and Gale Academic OneFile to find specific publications that can help you gather information about trends in your industry