Master's of Business Creation
This guide has library resources for students in the Master's of Business Creation program
Finding Industry Information
The Marriott Library has several databases for finding industry overviews and analysis. The video below, created by Business Librarian Lorelei Rutledge, explains how to use BCC Research and IBISWord for industry research. The library also has Gartner Research, which focuses on trends and analysis in information techniology
Another good databases in Markets and Markets, which shows high-level market sizes for B2B industries
Another skill that is useful in researching companies and industries is being able to search by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes. Check out the video below, which describes how to find NAICS and SIC codes.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowAcademic institutions around the globe subscribe to BCC Research to utilize the vast library of market research reports that aid students, professors, and technology transfer professionals in conducting research projects. Students appreciate the depth and specificity of BCC Research reports, finding it easy to uncover all of the data they need, from growth trends and market opportunities to geographic breakdowns and company profiles.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a variety of industry reports including risk reports, industry summaries, market research, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competition data. Items can be viewed online or downloaded for offline use.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowGartner Research delivers reports and findings related to information technology. The database includes analyses, trends, practices, standards and case studies. Gartner Research is provided to faculty, staff, and students through a UIT subscription. University employees who work in IT may request access to additional resources and webinars, but they should request this additional access from Gartner, please see the UIT Organization Memberships web page for more information.Gartner Research delivers reports and findings related to information technology. The database includes analyses, trends, practices, standards and case studies. Gartner Research is provided to faculty, staff, and students through a UIT subscription. University employees who work in IT may request access to additional resources and webinars, but they should request this additional access from Gartner, please see the UIT Organization Memberships web page for more information.
- Markets and Markets This link opens in a new windowNOTE:Access limited to University of Utah students, faculty, and staff. MarketsandMarkets provides quantified B2B research on 30,000 high growth emerging opportunities/threats which will impact 70% to 80% of worldwide companies' revenues. Currently servicing 7500 customers worldwide including 80% of globalFortune 1000 companies as clients. Almost 75,000 top officers across eight industries worldwide approach MarketsandMarkets for their painpoints around revenues decisions. Our 850 fulltime analyst and SMEs at MarketsandMarkets are tracking global high growth markets following the "Growth Engagement Model - GEM". The GEM aims at proactive collaboration with the clients to identify new opportunities, identify most important customers, write "Attack, avoid and defend" strategies, identify sources of incremental revenues for both the company and its competitors. MarketsandMarkets now coming up with 1,500 MicroQuadrants (Positioning top players across leaders, emerging companies, innovators, strategic players) annually in high growth emerging segments. MarketsandMarkets™ is determined to benefit more than 10,000 companies this year for their revenue planning and help them take their innovations/disruptions early to the market by providing them research ahead of the curve. MarketsandMarkets's flagship competitive intelligence and market research platform, "Knowledgestore" connects over 200,000 markets and entire value chains for deeper understanding of the unmet insights along with market sizing and forecasts of niche markets.
- Last Updated: Jan 5, 2023 3:19 PM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/c.php?g=1262008
- Print Page